Momentum Can-Am In Stock Header
cypress basin hospice
Erin Conrad – Edward Jones Header
ETB Advertising Banner Header Terrie 1
ETB Advertising Banner Header Terrie 2
Hess Furniture Appliances Banner Header

2016 ASC Championship




The 2016 ASC Championship is an eight-team field with the top four seeds — No. 1 Hardin-Simmons, No. 2 Mary Hardin-Baylor, No. 3 UT-Tyler and No. 4 UT Dallas — hosting quarterfinal matches on Tuesday (Nov. 1). The quarterfinal winners advance to the semifinals hosted by Hardin-Simmons on Friday (Nov. 4). The conference championship game is scheduled Sunday, November 6.

No. 1 Hardin-Simmons (16-1 / 11-0 ASC)
Hardin-Simmons enters the ASC tournament as the No. 12 ranked team in the NSCAA top 25 poll. HSU is currently riding a 16 game win streak, has outscored its opponents by a combined 77-3 and have 14 wins by shutout. The Cowgirls have competed in every ASC tournament, lead the conference with a 34-2 tournament record and have won the last 13 consecutive ASC titles and 16 overall. Hardin-Simmons finished the regular season as the ASC leader in shots (418), points (226), goals (77), assists (72), goals allowed (3) and shutouts (14). Hardin-Simmons also holds 11 top-10 rankings in Division III. Junior midfielder Kami Jones leads the Cowgirls. Jones holds several ASC-leading numbers and ranks in the top-10 in seven Division III categories led by top marks in assists per game (0.94) and game-winning goals (9). Between the posts, sophomore goalkeeper Caitlin Christiansen leads the ASC in shutouts (8) and has allowed only three goals in 1,124 minutes in goal. She also ranks No. 10 in Division III in goals against average (0.24).

No. 2 Mary Hardin-Baylor (12-3-2 / 9-1-1 ASC)
Mary Hardin-Baylor makes its fourth consecutive tournament appearance and eighth overall and is 3-7 in tournament play. The Cru recorded their second straight season with 12 overall wins and had finished in the top three in the ASC standings in each of the last four years. Mary Hardin-Baylor ranks second in the ASC in goals allowed (8) and goals against average (0.45) and ranks third in shots (354), points (127), goals (49) and is fourth in assists (29). Senior midfielder Kat Parker leads the Cru in shots (77), points (25), goals (10) and game-winning goals (5), all top-10 marks in the ASC. Senior goalkeeper Courtney Craig ranks second in save percentage (.878) and third in goals against average (0.49). Craig is tied for second in goals allowed (6) and has 43 saves on the year with six shutouts.

No. 3 UT-Tyler (12-2-1 / 9-1-1 ASC)
UT Tyler is 9-9 in tournament play and has made its 10th consecutive postseason appearance dating back to 2007. The Patriots have finished as the runner-up five times, including the last two ASC championships, and has won 10 of their last 11 games entering the tournament. UT Tyler ranks second in the ASC in points (134) and goals (50), third in assists (34), goals allowed (10) and shutouts (9). Senior forward Brittany Matthews leads the ASC in shots (80) and ranks second in points (38), goals (17) and game-winning goals (6). Junior goalkeeper Emily Hurley ranks first in save percentage (.885) and is second in goals-against average (0.45) and ranks tied for second in goals allowed (6) and shutouts (6).

No. 4 UT Dallas (11-6-1 / 7-3-1 ASC)
UT Dallas makes its 15th consecutive tournament appearance and 17th overall. The Comets are 15-15 in tournament play and have finished as the runner-up seven times, most recently in 2013. UT Dallas ranks second in shots (391) and assists (38), and is fourth in points (120), goals (41) and has seven shutouts. Senior forward Megan Mugavero leads the Comets in scoring with ten goals, ranked tied for sixth in the ASC and also ranks sixth in points (26). Sophomore goalkeeper Monica Dallacasa holds three ASC top-10 rankings – tied for fifth in shutouts (4), sixth in saves (71) and seventh in goals against average (1.56).

No. 5 Concordia Texas (8-6-1 / 6-5-0 ASC)
Concordia Texas enters its seventh ASC tournament and has a 1-6 record in the postseason event. The Tornados defeated East Texas Baptist in the 2011 tournament to reach the semifinals. Concordia Texas is led freshman forward Madi Timmons. Starting all 15 games in 2016, Timmons leads the team in goals (9), points (20), shots (47), shots on goal (33) and game-winning goals (3). In 14 games this season freshman goalkeeper Shelby Franco is 6-5-1 with 39 saves and has more than 1,000 minutes in net (1,057).

No. 6 East Texas Baptist (6-7-4 / 4-5-2 ASC)
East Texas Baptist makes its second consecutive tournament appearance and 10th overall. The Tigers are 1-9 in tournament play with a win coming in 2005 over LeTourneau advancing ETBU to the semifinals. Seniors Erin Miller, Heather Brady and Alexis Smith lead the team with four goals each. Miller and Brady share the team lead in points (11), and Miller has a team-best 57 shots. In goal, freshmen Lexy Montgomery and Karrigan Falber have tag-teamed between the posts in 2016. Montgomery leads with 925 minutes in goal with 38 saves, three wins, and four shutouts. Falber has 705 minutes at keeper with 34 saves two wins and one shutout.

No. 7 Sul Ross State (6-8-1 / 4-6-1 ASC)
Sul Ross State makes its first ASC tournament appearance in just its second year as a program. Junior forward Lauren Ebbs leads the Lady Lobos. Ebbs ranks second in the ASC in shots (78) and is third in points (36) and goals (16). Junior goalkeeper Ashlie Rojas has played all 15 games in net for SRSU and had 134 saves, two wins, and three shutouts in 1250 minutes between the posts.

No. 8 LeTourneau (8-8-1 / 4-6-1 ASC)
LeTourneau makes its fourth tournament appearance and is in search of its first win in the ASC postseason. Senior midfielder Stephanie Vana and junior defender Kennedy Keer lead the team with five goals each. Vana leads the team in assists (5) and points (27) and game-winning goals (3). Keer holds top marks as the team leader in shots (58) and shots on goal (31). Senior goalkeeper Brittany Hollis has started 14 of 17 games this season and has logged 1,114 minutes in goal with 62 saves, seven wins, and six shutouts.

The 2016 ASC Women’s Championship Soccer Tournament is the 19th in league history. The winner of the ASC Championship Tournament is declared the conference champion and earns automatic qualification to the NCAA Division III Women’s Soccer Championship.

Notes: UT Tyler and Mary Hardin-Baylor no admission. Hardin-Simmons is $5 daily. UT-Dallas is $5 for adults / $3 students daily. A gentle reminder that pets – leashed or unleashed are not allowed at ASC Championship events. Service animals must be leashed, properly trained, and marked for events. ASC Championship games don’t accept complimentary pass lists.