Sandlin Header 2022
ETB Advertising Banner Header Terrie 1
Cypress Basin Hospice 2023 Header
Better View Tree Trimming Header Ad
ETB Advertising Banner Header Terrie 2
Denny’s Paris Header
Hess Furniture Appliances Banner Header Duplicate

Antoine Kelly Named Rangers Minor League Reliever Of The Year


FRISCO, Texas (September 21, 2023) – Frisco RoughRiders pitcher Antoine Kelly was named the Texas Rangers Minor League Reliever of the Year, the Rangers announced on Thursday as part of the 2023 minor league award winners.

Kelly, 23, went 3-1 with 11 saves, a 1.96 ERA (12 ER/55.0 IP), and 76 strikeouts in 47 relief outings between Frisco and Triple-A Round Rock in 2023.

He is the 11th RoughRiders pitcher to win the award and the first since Chase Lee in 2022.

Kelly ranked among Texas minor league pitchers (min. 50.0 IP) in ERA (1st), saves (1st), and strikeouts per 9.0 innings (5th, 12.44). The left-hander spent most of the campaign with Frisco, where his 1.95 ERA (11 ER/50.2 IP) in 43 appearances placed second in the Texas League (min. 50.0 IP).

The southpaw had the longest streak in Double-A of appearances without an earned run in 2023, lasting 20 games and 21.2 innings from June 13 to August 11.

Kelly was also honored by the Rangers in July as the Minor League Relief Pitcher of the Month.

The Rangers acquired the Chicago native from Milwaukee in a three-player trade involving pitcher Matt Bush on August 2, 2022. The Brewers drafted Kelly in the second round in 2019.

They will reward Kelly and the other honorees with their awards before Saturday’s game against the Seattle Mariners.

Texas Rangers Minor League Award Winners:

Tom Grieve Player of the Year – 1B/OF Abimelec Ortiz

Nolan Ryan Pitcher of the Year – RHP Jose Corniell

Reliever of the Year – LHP Antoine Kelly

Defender of the Year – OF Daniel Mateo

True Ranger Award – INF Blaine Crim

For more information on the Frisco RoughRiders, visit or call 972.731.9200.

About the RoughRiders

The Frisco RoughRiders are the Double-A affiliate of the Texas Rangers and the 2022 Texas League champions. In 2023, the team is celebrating its 20th anniversary and has consistently finished in the top five among all Double-A franchises in attendance yearly. In August 2014, an ownership group led by Chuck Greenberg, with the City of Frisco, purchased the RoughRiders. They have spearheaded numerous significant franchise enhancements, investing over $8 million in a wide array of facility upgrades and improvements, including a state-of-the-art HD video board, sound system, Bull Moose Saloon, Bullpen Bar, Riders Outpost Team Store, and the world’s most prominent water feature in a sports facility, the massive Lazy River. These enhancements earned the Riders and the City of Frisco Ballpark Digest’s prestigious “Best Ballpark Renovation” award for two consecutive years (2015 and 2016). 

More than 190 former RoughRiders players have gone on to play Major League Baseball, including current Rangers Josh Jung, Evan Carter, and Martin Perez. For more information on the Frisco RoughRiders, please visit or contact