" /> ASC Cross Country – EastTexasRadio.com
Momentum Polaris Get Outside Now
Dane McLamore Header
cypress basin hospice
Hess Louisiana Grills Header
Morrell banner
Sandlin – Find New Roads – It’s All About You Aug 2017
Access Financial Group
Titus Regional Orthopedic Sports Medicine Header

ASC Cross Country




RICHARDSON, Texas – The 2016 American Southwest Conference Men’s and Women’s Cross Country Championships are set to run Saturday (Oct. 29) in Austin, Texas on the Balcones-Spicewood Cross Country Course hosted by Concordia University Texas.

The UT Tyler men’s team has won 10 of the last 11 ASC championships and the last six consecutive dating back to 2010. The Patriot men have two first-place team scores this fall, and freshman Will McIlroy leads with two top-fives. An ASC Runner of the Week selection (Oct. 3), McIlroy will attempt to become the sixth consecutive UT Tyler men’s runner to claim medalist honors at the ASC Championship and the 10th overall.

The UT Tyler women’s team has won the last three ASC titles. The Patriot women have one first-place finish and one runner-up score led by junior Rachel Willis and senior Holly Nohavitza. Willis leads the UT Tyler women with four top-10 times including two top-five finishes. An ASC Runner of the Week selection (Oct. 3), Nohavitza claims three top-10 finishes with two runner-up scores. Both runners will look to extend the streak of three consecutive UT Tyler women ASC medalists.

In the men’s race LeTourneau senior Taber Miyauchi returns as the highest scoring runner from the 2015 ASC Championship at third overall. Miyauchi led the YellowJackets to their second runner-up team score in the last three ASC championship meets. A five-time ASC Runner of the Week, Miyauchi recorded five top-five times this fall and finished first at the ASC Preview, the site of the 2016 ASC Championship.

Finishing as the runner-up in the last two ASC championship meets the UT Dallas women’s team returns with hopes of capturing its first conference championship. The Comets have won two events this fall and junior Lindsey Rayborn, and freshman Hollee Ratliff lead. Rayborn placed fifth at the 2015 ASC Championship, is a three-time ASC Runner of the Week recipient and took first place in two meets. Ratliff has two top-three times including a runner-up finish at the ASC Preview finishing behind Rayborn.

The women’s race features a return of five of the top six runners from the 2015 ASC Championship led by McMurry senior Kirsten DeFrance, who ran as a non-scoring runner but finished second unofficially. Concordia Texas sophomore Emily Villines scored as the runner-up, and UT Dallas junior Samantha Tschirhart placed third. East Texas Baptist senior Shelby Spencer finished fourth and had two ASC Runner of the Week awards this fall.

Twelve ASC institutions – Concordia Texas, East Texas Baptist, Hardin-Simmons, LeTourneau, Louisiana College, McMurry, Univ. of Ozarks, Sul Ross State, UT Dallas and UT Tyler comprise the men’s and women’s championship field. Belhaven will run as a non-scoring team while McMurry resumes its eligibility to contend for the ASC Championship.

Notes: No admission charged. The women’s 6k race will begin at 8:15 a.m. and the men’s 8k race will start approximately at 9:00 a.m. The awards presentation will begin approximately at 10:15 a.m. following the completion of the men’s 8k race. The 2016 ASC Championships is the first to be hosted by Concordia University Texas. The 2016 NCAA Division III Cross Country South / Southeast Region Championships, which are open meets, will run November 12 at the Berry College Clara Bowl in Mount Berry, Georgia. Berry College will serve as the event host. The NCAA Division III Cross Country National Championships will run November 19 at E.P. Tom Sawyer Park in Louisville, Kentucky. Spalding University and the Louisville Sports Commission will serve as host.


Men’s Team Champions

1996 Ozarks
1997 Mississippi College
1998 Mississippi College
1999 McMurry
2000 McMurry
2001 Mississippi College
2002 Mississippi College
2003 Mississippi College
2004 Mississippi College
2005 Texas-Tyler
2006 Texas-Tyler
2007 Texas-Tyler
2008 Texas-Tyler
2009 Mississippi College
2010 Texas-Tyler
2011 Texas-Tyler
2012 Texas-Tyler
2013 Texas-Tyler
2014 Texas-Tyler
2015 Texas-Tyler

Men’s Individual Champions

1996 Mitchell Wolowicz, McMurry (24:40.5 – 5 mile)
1997 Seth Jones, Mississippi College (31:54.00 – 8K)
1998 David Chandler, McMurry (27:17.70 – 8K)
1999 Tom Hanes, Mississippi College (26:56.20 – 8K)
2000 David Chandler, McMurry (27:31.00 – 8K)
2001 Justin Jernigan, Mississippi College (26:55.38 – 8K)
2002 Braegan Enright, McMurry (27:23.00 – 8K)
2003 Justin Rogers, Mississippi College (27:40.96 – 8K)
2004 Mathew Manning, Mississippi College (27:37.00 – 8K)
2005 Mathew Manning, Mississippi College (25:50.46 – 8K)
2006 Ben Donnan, Texas-Tyler (26:16.00 – 8K)
2007 Ben Donnan, Texas-Tyler (25:46.34 – 8K)
2008 Warren Brown, Texas-Tyler (26:06 – 8K)
2009 Tino Gonzalez, Mississippi College (28:02.32 – 8K)
2010 Jeff Chandler, Texas-Tyler (26:20.00 – 8K)
2011 Ross Renfroe, Texas-Tyler (25:42.30 – 8K) $
2012 Nick Huff, Texas-Tyler (26:12.97 – 8k)
2013 Nick Huff, Texas-Tyler (26:43.73 – 8k)
2014 Conner Benson, Texas-Tyler (26:44.22 – 8k)
2015 Matthew Markert, Texas-Tyler (27:36.00 – 8k)

$8k ASC Championship Record

Women’s Team Champions

1996 Austin College
1997 Mississippi College
1998 Mississippi College
1999 Mississippi College
2000 Mississippi College
2001 Mississippi College
2002 Texas Lutheran
2003 Texas Lutheran
2004 Texas Lutheran
2005 Mississippi College
2006 McMurry
2007 Mississippi College
2008 Mississippi College
2009 Texas-Tyler
2010 Hardin-Simmons
2011 Concordia Texas
2012 Mississippi College
  Texas Lutheran (Co-champs)
2013 Texas-Tyler
2014 Texas-Tyler
2015 Texas-Tyler

Women’s Individual Champions

1996 Alisha Rygh, Howard Payne (20:25.00 – 5K)
1997 Julie Schmidt, Mississippi College (23:31.00 – 5K)
1998 Sheila Hynum, Mississippi College (19:40.33 – 5K)
1999 Sheila Hynum, Mississippi College (21:07.10 – 5K)
2000 Nicole Hollifield, Mississippi College (19:29.00 – 5K)
2001 Nicole Hollifield, Mississippi College (19:07.64 – 5K)
2002 Amanda Ward, McMurry (24:50.00 – 6K)
2003 Samara Williams, Texas Lutheran (24:19.89 – 6K)
2004 Samara Williams, Texas Lutheran (24:44.00 – 6K)
2005 Rachel Hardin, Mississippi College (24:09.78 – 6K)
2006 Carla Lewis, McMurry (24:11.00 – 6K)
2007 Magan Saenz, Texas Lutheran (24:16.65 – 6K)
2008 Kellie Kirby, Mississippi College (24:36.60 – 6K)
2009 Carla Lewis, McMurry (25:01.52 – 6K)
2010 Lindsey Hinton, Hardin-Simmons (23:14.00 – 6K)
2011 Alaisha Guerra, McMurry (23:54.18 – 6K)
2012 Nicole Leman, LeTourneau (22:39.95 – 6k) $
2013 Carly Kitts, Texas-Tyler (23:29.20 – 6K)
2014 Carly Kitts, Texas-Tyler (23:10.16 – 6K)
2015 Brittany Brunson, Texas-Tyler (24:57.31 – 6K)

$6k ASC Championship Record