" /> ASC – Sports – EastTexasRadio.com
Sandlin – Find New Roads – It’s All About You Aug 2017
cypress basin hospice
Morrell banner
Mid America Pet Food Header
Hess Lawn Mower Header
Titus Regional Orthopedic Sports Medicine Header
Momentum Polaris Get Outside Now

ASC – Sports

UTD, UMHB Picked to Repeat in ASC Women’s Basketball

RICHARDSON, Texas – UT Dallas and Mary Hardin-Baylor, again picked to repeat as the 2020-21 American Southwest Conference East and West Division winners, respectively, following a vote of the league’s head coaches and directors of sports information, the ASC office announced Thursday. 

UT Dallas (26-4, 14-2 ASC) received 143 points and 23 of 24 first-place votes to lead the East Division. Polly Thomason, the six-time ASC East Division Coach of the Year, and the Comets advanced to the second round of the NCAA Championship last season after winning the East. 

Mary Hardin-Baylor (26-4, 14-2 ASC) picked the winner of the West Division with 135 points and 18 out of 24 first-place votes. The Cru, under two-time ASC West Division Coach of the Year Mark Morefield, won the ASC Championship last season and advanced to the NCAA Championship Sectionals. 

In the East, East Texas Baptist (20-7, 13-3 ASC) was picked second with 115 points and one first-place vote. The Tigers were followed by LeTourneau (14-12, 10-6 ASC), Belhaven (14-12, 7-9 ASC), Louisiana College (5-19, 3-13 ASC) and Ozarks (6-19, 1-15 ASC). 

Hardin-Simmons (21-7, 13-3 ASC) was selected as the runner-up in the West Division with 122 points and three four-place votes after a runner-up finished in the ASC Finals last year. The Cowgirls were followed by Howard Payne (11-15, 7-9 ASC) with two first-place votes, Concordia Texas (9-17, 6-10 ASC), McMurry (9-16, 2-14 ASC), and Sul Ross State (7-18, 5-11 ASC) 

The 2020-21 ASC Women’s Basketball Watch List is composed of 30 players nominated by the head coaches and features all two all-conference selections from last season, 18 all-division recipients, and four individual award winners. 

The 2020-21 season marks the 25th in league history. Regular season play begins Saturday, November 7. 

The three-day, eight-team, single-elimination conference tournament is March 4-6 at the site of the West Division No. 1 seed. The ASC Championship Tournament features the top four seeds from both divisions, an automatic berth into the NCAA Division III Women’s Basketball Championship will be on the line.

ASC Women’s Basketball Preseason Polls
East Division

No. Team (First-place votes) Pts.   2019-20 Record (ASC)
1. UT Dallas (23) 143 23-6 (15-1)
2. East Texas Baptist (1) 115 20-7 (13-3)
3. LeTourneau 101 14-12 (10-6)
4. Belhaven 68 14-12 (7-9)
5. Louisiana College 41 5-19 (3-13)
6. Ozarks 39 6-19 (1-15)

West Division

No. Team (First-place votes) Pts. 2019-20 Record (ASC)
1. Mary Hardin-Baylor (18) 135 26-4 (14-2)
2. Hardin-Simmons (4) 122 21-7 (13-3)
3. Howard Payne (2) 82 11-15 (7-9)
4. Concordia Texas 72 9-17 (6-10)
5. McMurry 49 9-16 (2-14)
6. Sul Ross State 46 7-18 (5-11)

ASC Women’s Basketball Preseason Watch List
East Division

Name Pos. Class School Hometown
Mariah Collins N D H G Sr. Belhaven Chicago, Ill.
Janae Collier G Sr. Belhaven Brandon, Miss.
Destiny Johnson C Sr. Belhaven Memphis, Tenn.
Taylor Singleton 2 D G Jr. East Texas Baptist Friendswood, Texas
Mallory Stephens H F Sr. East Texas Baptist Keene, Texas
Haley Fieseler C Sr. East Texas Baptist Mount Pleasant, Texas
Keauna Whitfield A 1 D G Sr. LeTourneau Rosebud, Texas
Malacia Guy F G So. LeTourneau Itasca, Texas
Flora Akingbade H F Sr. LeTourneau Grand Prairie, Texas
Maya Washington G So. Louisiana College LaPlace, La.
Kayla Kinney G Jr. Louisiana College Zion, Ill.
Alex Harrison F So. Louisiana College Oakdale, La.
Kerigan Bradshaw H G Jr. Ozarks Harrison, Ark.
Kamryn McKinney G Sr. Ozarks Sallisaw, Okla.
Raenett Hughes A Y P 1 D G Sr. UT Dallas College Station, Texas
Kelley Skinner H G Sr. UT Dallas Katy, Texas

A 2019-20 All-American Southwest Conference
Y 2019-20 East Division Player of the Year
N 2019-20 East Division Newcomer of the Year
P 2019-20 East Division Defensive Player of the Year
1 2019-20 East Division First Team Selection
2 2019-20 East Division Second Team Selection
F 2019-20 East Division All-Freshman Team
D 2019-20 East Division All-Defensive Team
H 2019-20 East Division Honorable Mention

West Division

Name Pos. Class School Hometown
Havyn Perez G So. Concordia Texas Seminole, Texas
Madi Maxwell D G So. Concordia Texas Godley, Texas
Natalie Velardez F F So. Concordia Texas Levelland, Texas
Kaitlyn Ellis 1 C Sr. Hardin-Simmons Breckenridge, Texas
Parris Parmer 2 F F So. Hardin-Simmons San Angelo, Texas
Chelsey Harris 2 D G Sr. Howard Payne Waco, Texas
Lily Janek H G Jr. Howard Payne La Vernia, Texas
Bria Neal R F H F/G So. Howard Payne LaPlace, La.
Brooke Elliott G Sr Mary Hardin-Baylor Georgetown, Texas
Allaira Jones 2 C Jr. Mary Hardin-Baylor Gatesville, Texas
A’lexiss Benton G Jr. Mary Hardin-Baylor  Lantana, Texas
Destiny Mathews F H F So. McMurry Palestine, Texas
Kaylee Martinez G/F So. Sul Ross State El Paso, Texas

R 2019-20 West Division Freshman of the Year
1 2019-20 West Division First Team Selection
2 2019-20 West Division First Team Selection
F 2019-20 West Division All-Freshman Team
D 2019-20 West Division All-Defensive Team
H 2019-20 West Division Honorable Mention