Erin Conrad – Edward Jones Header
Hess Furniture Appliances Banner Header
ETB Advertising Banner Header Terrie 1
Momentum Can-Am In Stock Header
cypress basin hospice
ETB Advertising Banner Header Terrie 2

ASC – Sports

UMHB Predicted to Win ASC Men’s Golf Crown

2020-21 ASC Men’s Golf Schedule

RICHARDSON, Texas – Mary Hardin-Baylor was selected to win the 2021 American Southwest Conference Men’s Golf Championship in a vote of the league’s head coaches, the conference office announced Friday (January 22). 

The Cru received 82 points and three out of 10 first-place votes in the poll. UMHB is ranked 8th in the GCAA Pre-Spring Poll after winning two tournaments in the fall.

Second in the poll was 2019 ASC champion Concordia Texas with 81 points and a first-place vote. McMurry (72/1), LeTourneau (69/3), and UT Dallas (65/1) followed them. 

Rounding out the poll were Hardin-Simmons (64); East Texas Baptist (50); Belhaven (30/1); Howard Payne (30); and Louisiana College (13). 

Eighteen golfers are among those to watch in 2021. Nominated by the head coaches, the watch list includes four who earned All-Conference honors in 2019. 

Spring tournaments will begin Wednesday, January 27. The ASC Men’s Golf Championship is April 26-27, 2021, at The Hideout Golf Club in Brownwood, Texas.

2021 ASC Preseason Men’s Golf Poll

Team (First) Votes 2019 Championship Finish
1. Mary Hardin-Baylor (3) 82 6th
2. Concordia Texas (1) 81 1st
3. McMurry (1) 72 2nd
4. LeTourneau (3) 69 4th
5. UT Dallas (1) 65 3rd
6. Hardin-Simmons 64 5th
7. East Texas Baptist 50 T7th
8. Belhaven (1) 30
    Howard Payne 30 T7th
10. Louisiana College 13 9th

2021 Golfers to Watch

Name Cl. Team Hometown
Achanta Aashish Fr. UT Dallas San Jose, Calif.
Kyle Anderson Jr. Howard Payne Pearland, Texas
Kaleb Brown * Jr. Howard Payne Sulphur Bluff, Texas
Luke Couch So. Belhaven Vestavia Hills, Ala.
Hank Crain * Jr. East Texas Baptist Prescott, Ark.
Ryan Kropp Sr. UT Dallas Brighton, Colo.
Brendon Lowrance * Sr. McMurry Mansfield, Texas
Landon Oney * Sr. LeTourneau Diana, Texas
Marco Punzo So. Concordia Texas Prosper, Texas
Robert Quintana So. Hardin-Simmons Allen, Texas
Lane Roye Sr. McMurry Fort Worth, Texas
William Sammons Fr. Mary Hardin-Baylor Spring, Texas
Justin Skorheim Jr. Concordia Texas Spring, Texas
Jack Sladek Fr. East Texas Baptist North Richland Hills, Texas
Bryson Thurston So. LeTourneau Montgomery, Texas
Kaden Treybig So. Mary Hardin-Baylor Bellville, Texas
Payton Tuttle Sr. Belhaven Richland, Miss.
Nick Vella Sr. Hardin-Simmons Colleyville, Texas

2019 All-Conference *