ETB Advertising Banner Header Terrie 2
Better View Tree Trimming Header Ad
Sandlin Header 2022
ETB Advertising Banner Header Terrie 1
Cypress Basin Hospice 2023 Header

ASC – Sports



RICHARDSON, Texas – UT Dallas senior first baseman Barry Casey claimed Player of the Year, while Concordia Texas senior reliever Justin Traxler was the Pitcher of the Year to highlight the 2018 American Southwest Conference baseball awards and all-conference teams as selected by a vote of the coaches.

Casey, who was the 2017 ASC Newcomer of the Year, led the league with 59 RBI while hitting .446 with 44 runs, 75 hits, 12 doubles, two triples, five homers, a .631 slugging percentage and .523 on-base percentage. He was also the Most Valuable Player of the ASC Championship Series Red Bracket.

Traxler, a four-time All-Conference selection, led the league with a 1.66 ERA and eight saves to go with a 5-0 record and 62 strikeouts over 65 innings in 19 appearances. Traxler was the MVP of the ASC Championship Series Blue Bracket.

McMurry designated hitter Nick Hamel was voted as the Freshman of the Year after hitting .362 with 21 runs, 46 hits, ten doubles, three homers and 24 RBI, earning Second Team honors.

Concordia Texas junior second baseman Carson Cox was named Newcomer of the Year. The First Team All-ASC pick hit .403 with 62 hits, 28 runs scored, 11 doubles, four home runs, 39 RBI, a .565 slugging percentage and four steals.

LeTourneau sophomore shortstop Will Bradshaw was selected as the Sportsmanship Athlete of the Year and will be eligible for the American Southwest Conference Fred Jacoby Award.

Concordia Texas earned Coaching Staff of the Year. Under head coach Tommy Boggs, the Tornados won the ASC regular season title with an 18-6 record and a 29-14 overall mark. Clint Mokry, Carlos Perez, Jason Winkler and Ty Bratton assist Boggs.

Traxler, Louisiana College outfielder Sully Martin, Hardin-Simmons outfielder Cody Berryman and Concordia Texas outfielder Michael Evan were selected All-Conference for the fourth time in their careers.

2018 American Southwest Conference All-Conference Baseball

Individual Awards

Player of the Year Barry Casey UT Dallas
Pitcher of the Year Justin Traxler Concordia Texas
Freshman of the Year Nick Hamel McMurry
Newcomer of the Year Carson Cox Concordia Texas
Sportsmanship Athlete of the Year Will Bradshaw LeTourneau
Coaching Staff of the Year Concordia Texas Head Coach Tommy Boggs; Assistants: Clint Mokry, Carlos Perez, Jason Winkler,
Ty Bratton

First Team

C Elijah Perez Sr. Hardin-Simmons San Marcos, Texas
1B * Ryan Almager 3 Sr. Sul Ross State Lubbock, Texas
1B * Barry Casey 2 Sr. UT Dallas Southlake, Texas
2B Carson Cox Jr. Concordia Texas Cotulla, Texas
3B * Connor Scruggs 2 Sr. UT Dallas Garland, Texas
3B * Blake Wilson 3 Jr. UT Tyler Midlothian, Texas
SS Bowie Farris Jr. UT Tyler Denton, Texas
OF Wesley Moss 3 Jr. Sul Ross State San Antonio, Texas
OF Cliff Lunceford Jr. Howard Payne Fort Worth, Texas
OF Jonathon Bigley 3 Sr. Sul Ross State Dripping Springs, Texas
OF * Rodney Corbin Sr. UT Dallas Austin, Texas
OF * Josh Covey 3 Sr. UT Dallas Tomball, Texas
DH Gonzalo Sosa 2 Sr. LeTourneau Houston, Texas
UT Deaton Delgado Jr. Louisiana College Shreveport, La.
SP Jamie Andriot 2 Sr. UT Dallas Plano, Texas
SP Simon Sedillo Sr. UT Tyler Grand Prairie, Texas
SP Matthew Williams 2 So. Concordia Texas Austin, Texas
RP Justin Traxler 4 Sr. Concordia Texas Austin, Texas

Second Team

C Casey Combs 2 Jr. East Texas Baptist Southlake, Texas
1B * Patrick Clifford 2 Sr. Ozarks Grand Prairie, Texas
1B * Will Costinett Sr. Belhaven St. Francisville, La.
2B Ryan Burciaga 3 Jr. UT Dallas Katy, Texas
3B Steven Pizano Sr. Louisiana College Houston, Texas
SS Casen Novak 2 So. Concordia Texas Flatonia, Texas
OF Dakota Best 2 So. Mary Hardin-Baylor Giddings, Texas
OF Zach Gartner 2 Jr. East Texas Baptist The Woodlands, Texas
OF Jared Pauley Sr. UT Tyler Longview, Texas
OF Sully Martin 4 Sr. Louisiana College Paulina, La.
DH * Thomas Craig Jr. UT Dallas Austin, Texas
DH * Nick Hamel Fr. McMurry San Antonio, Texas
UT Chris Baker Sr. McMurry San Angelo, Texas
SP Cody Remore 2 Sr. Sul Ross State Liberty Hills, Texas
SP Ryan Cheatham  2 Sr. UT Tyler Whitehouse, Texas
SP Gyeongju Kim So. Ozarks Seoul, South Korea
RP Hayden Day So. Hardin-Simmons Brownwood, Texas

Third Team

C Peyton Becker So. UT Dallas Round Rock, Texas
1B Alex Bishop 3 Sr. UT Tyler Calgary, Alberta
2B Josh Woolly 2 Sr. Ozarks Spiro, Okla.
3B John Tople So. Hardin-Simmons Abilene, Texas
SS Taylor Cooling 3 Sr. Hardin-Simmons Mont Belvieu, Texas
OF Justin Crider 2 Sr. Ozarks Dallas, Texas
OF Matthew Chalk Jr. McMurry Katy, Texas
OF Brady Atkins So. Louisiana College Montgomery, La.
OF Breyden Varner Jr. Ozarks Skiatook, Okla.
DH Dustin Brown Sr. Louisiana College Shreveport, La.
UT Monty Maley Jr. Sul Ross State Kingwood, Texas
SP Derrick Findley So. East Texas Baptist Livingston, Texas
SP Blaine Parker Fr. East Texas Baptist Longview, Texas
SP Cole Hanson 2 Sr. UT Dallas Houston, Texas
RP * Call Florence Jr. East Texas Baptist Tyler, Texas
RP * Garrett Hale Jr. UT Dallas Southlake, Texas

Honorable Mention

C Kreg Garner Sr. Belhaven Brandon, Miss.
C Ryan Clouse So. Concordia Texas Round Rock, Texas
C Bryce Elder 2 Sr. Ozarks Ottawa, Kan.
1B Reed Carlton Jr. Concordia Texas Austin, Texas
1B Duncan Cornfoot Sr. Louisiana College Waveland, Miss.
2B Jacob Rodriguez Jr. Howard Payne Spring, Texas
2B Jordan Speck Jr. McMurry Burleson, Texas
3B Payton Stokes Jr. McMurry Abilene, Texas
3B David Groves 2 Jr. Howard Payne Graham, Texas
SS Will Bradshaw So. LeTourneau Longview, Texas
SS Matt Mikusek Jr. UT Dallas Irving, Texas
SS Zane Corbell Sr. Louisiana College Shreveport, La.
SS Fielder Dufrene Jr. Ozarks Clinton, Texas
OF Cody Berryman 4 Sr. Hardin-Simmons Shallowater, Texas
OF Ryan Acebedo So. Sul Ross State Lubbock, Texas
OF Jeremy Bateman So. East Texas Baptist Athens, Texas
OF Michael Evan 4 Sr. Concordia Texas Cameron, Texas
OF Josh Burns Jr. UT Tyler Center, Texas
OF Luke Richter 2 So. UT Dallas Austin, Texas
OF Graham Welch 3 Jr. UT Tyler Plano, Texas
OF Patrick Mixon Sr. Ozarks Lewisville, Texas
OF Jay Holland Jr. Howard Payne Alvarado, Texas
OF Clarence Guidry III Jr. Concordia Texas Pflugerville, Texas
OF Benjamin Lewis Sr. Howard Payne Fort Worth, Texas
DH Dakota Ebarb 2 Jr. Ozarks Lavon, Texas
DH Cade Johnson So. Hardin-Simmons Tuscola, Texas
UT Bubba Valdez Jr. LeTourneau Forney, Texas
UT Malek Bolin Fr. Mary Hardin-Baylor Fort Worth, Texas
UT Noah Payne 3 Jr. Howard Payne Humble, Texas
UT Sam Swartz Jr. Ozarks Granby, Mo.
SP Aaron Marquez Jr. Sul Ross State Andrews, Texas
SP Ruben Renteria 2 Sr. UT Dallas El Paso, Texas
SP Ty Engelhardt Sr. Hardin-Simmons North Richland Hills, Texas
SP Luke Ludwig So. LeTourneau Spring, Texas
SP Seth Owen Jr. Howard Payne Brownwood, Texas
SP Casey Frazier 2 Sr. Mary Hardin-Baylor Salado, Texas
SP Andrew Harlan 2 Jr. LeTourneau Lewisville, Texas
RP Brenden Clanton Jr. Howard Payne Lubbock, Texas
RP Phillip Vidrine Jr. Louisiana College