" /> Hopkins County Election Results – EastTexasRadio.com
Leighann Welk Header
Momentum Polaris Get Outside Now
Titus Regional Orthopedic Sports Medicine Header
Hess Lawn Mower Header
cypress basin hospice
Sandlin – Find New Roads – It’s All About You Aug 2017

Hopkins County Election Results



Northeast Texas voters overwhelmingly voted for Donald Trump for President. . Republican straight party voting carried the day with 6,784 ballots  to the Democratic Party’s  1,749 straight ticket voters.  GOP candidates won all the major state judicial races as well. In the state school board District 9 race, Republican Keven M. Ellis was the overwhelming winner.  The PJC Tax District Annexation proposal  passed in Lamar County, but was rejected in Hopkins, Delta , Hunt, Fannin and Red River counties. Incumbent GOP Hopkins County Pct 3 Commissioner Wade Bartley defeated his democrat challenger Billy Emerson.

City of Cumby quarter cent sales tax proposition passed with 69% for and 31% against.

Cumby ISD voters elected Tony Aguilar with 322 votes, Jason G. Hudson with 347 votes, and Jody Jarvis with 380 votes to the school board.

North Hopkins ISD voters elected Charley Vaughn with 280 votes, Jim Westbrook with 282 votes and Vicki Ferrell with 232 votes. Miller Grove ISD voters elected Eric Mabe with 269 votes, Douglas Hall with 247 votes, Clark May with 204 votes and John Derek Wilbur with 179 votes.

One person has died in a single vehicle crash  on FM 38 in Lamar County Tuesday morning. State Troopers say  27-year-old Sherahd Twitty ran off the road and hit a tree. He was transported to the hospital, where he later died of his injuries.