Erin Conrad – Edward Jones Header
Momentum Can-Am In Stock Header
Hess Furniture Appliances Banner Header
cypress basin hospice
ETB Advertising Banner Header Terrie 1
ETB Advertising Banner Header Terrie 2

MPISD – News


From left to right: Caroline Rose, Abby Mason, Reid Pinckard

Contact: Kelly Cowan

MPHS students win Lions Club contests

Three Mount Pleasant High School students competed at the Lion’s Club District 2-X2 Mid-Winter Cabinet meeting in Tyler on January 11, 2020. All three were awarded first place in their respective categories and have advanced to the State level of competition. They were each awarded $300 scholarships at the district level.

Evaluated on high school grade point average, a 750-word essay, a personal biographical information statement, three letters of recommendation, the performance of community service, and interview, senior Caroline Rose won the Lion’s Outstanding Youth Contest.

Senior Abby Mason was awarded first place for her essay on diabetes awareness. The Diabetes Awareness Essay Contest is an annual competition allowing student participants the opportunity to research, organize and present perspectives on a given topic related to diabetes. With Texas Lions involved in helping youth with the disease, the contest emphasizes the need for new ideas, understanding and dissecting societal and individual issues associated with the condition.

Junior Reid Pinckard earned first place for his Drug Awareness Speech. The 2020 topic focused on opioid addiction, including two types of interventions with an emphasis on the therapeutic benefits, and how students can steer friends away from using opioids.

 Rose, Mason, and Pinckard have all advanced to the State level competition on May 14-16 in Longview. They will compete against other youth winners representing 16 Lions Club districts across the state of Texas for a chance at scholarships ranging from $1000-$3000.



Mount Pleasant High School FBLA students advance to State

The Mount Pleasant High School chapter of Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA) competed in the Area VI FBLA Leadership Conference on Wednesday, January 22, at Region 8. MPHS had a very successful day with a record of 52 members qualifying for State. Fourteen of those earned 1st place at the area conference. 

Students advancing to the State in the following categories include: 

           Accounting 1: Rylan Hubbs 1st place

           Advertising: Emma Baggett 1st place and Faith Logan 2nd place

           Broadcast Journalism: Isabella Greco, Taylor Hubbs, and Ryan Sharp 1st place

           Business Calculations: Patricia Roque 1st place, Peyton Hein 2nd place, and Nathalie Burgemeister 4th place

           Business Law: Michelle Calderon 2nd place

           Computer Problem Solving: Caleb Ball 1st place

           Cyber Security: Connor Brison 3rd place

           Digital Video Production: Gavin Rider 1st place

           Entrepreneurship: Katia Lopez and Anthony Cortez 2nd place

           Graphic Design: Victor Diaz, Sashi Poudel, and Omar Ramirez 3rd place

           Health Care Administration: Natalie Howard 1st place, Grace Whitten 2nd place, Jessie Nell Parchman 3rd place, and Anna Elliott 4th place

           Hospitality Management: Daisy Ayala and Hailey Benyshek 1st place and Valerie Moreno and Alejandra Ramirez 2nd place

           Impromptu Speaking: Lucy Benalonzo 4th place

           Insurance and Risk Management: Abby Mason 1st place, Jaqueline Juarez 2nd place, and Virginia Fuentes 3rd place

Job Interview: Pearl Murrillo 2nd place

Journalism: Nevaeh Bardwell 2nd place and Bailey O’Neal 4th place

Marketing: Kylie Hedge, Taryn Thurman, and Nicholas Segovia 1st place

Personal Finance: Mina Kollen Larsen 2nd place, and Felicity Miller 4th place

Political Science: Caroline Rose 2nd place

PSA: Madison Adams, Megan Adams, and Tairelle Chong 2nd place

Public Speaking: Beth Lockett 1st place

Publication Design: Jenifer Deciga, Dorali Hernandez, and Jocelyn Paloblanco 2nd place

Sales Presentation: Tyler Welborn 1st place

Securities and Investments: Shelby Courreges 1st place

Social Media: Gaven Fife and Skylee Ford 2nd place

Sports and Entertainment Marketing: Debora Trejo and Viridiana Ysasi 1st place

Also placing for MPHS was Laura Sanchez, 5th place in Agribusiness.

At the Area VI Leadership Conference, Faith Logan was named the Who’s Who Award recipient for Mount Pleasant High School.

“Our FBLA students had an awesome day of competition at the area meet as we had a record number of students qualify for state,” said FBLA Lead Advisor, John Whitten. “The students have worked weekly after school since October studying for tests, working on presentations, preparing their speeches, and putting themselves in a position to succeed. I am excited for our students that they reached State. Now, we start putting in the work to improve our scores and presentations and solidify our speeches. I am thankful for a great group of students, along with the help of co-advisors Shanta Lockett and Sarah Fry.”

           Advancing students will compete at the FBLA State Leadership Conference in Galveston on March 25-27.