Hess Black Friday Header
ETB Advertising Banner Header Terrie 2
Sandlin Header 2022
Denny’s Paris Header
ETB Advertising Banner Header Terrie 1
Cypress Basin Hospice 2023 Header

MPISD – News

The 2020-2021 Tiger Doll Officers and Sergeants
Front Row L to R: Jr. Lt. Mary Kait Heeren, Jr. Lt. Grelyn Goolsby, 1st Lt. Madyson Arzate, Capt. Lily Burrows, Jr. Lt. Nevaeh Bardwell, Sr. Lt. Ashleigh Amerson
Back Row L to R: Sgt. Madison Craig, Sgt. Chloe Carter, Sgt. Carlie Cunningham, Sgt. Anna Kate Fisher, Sgt. Emma Sellers, Head Sgt. Mackenzie Lide, Director Jaton Broach

Contact: Kelly Cowan

Tiger Doll Officers and Sergeants bring home awards from camp.

The 2020-2021 Tiger Doll Officers and Sergeants attended an American Dance/Drill Team officer camp June 29-July 1, at the Hilton Dallas/Rockwall to prepare for the coming year. The officers received votes for the Most Admired Team of the Day on day 1, the All-American Team of the Day on day 2, won the Sweepstakes award, Best Overall Technique, and were named the All-American Dance Officers of the Week, the highest officer award given at camp. The Sergeants were voted All American Team of the Day on day 1. They received the Award of Excellence and Best Overall Creative Project, the highest social officer award at camp.

All twelve sergeants and officers received individual awards. They chose only six dancers in the entire camp for the All-American Dance Company, including Lieutenants Madyson Arzate and Mary Kait Heeren. Captain Lily Burrows was named the Outstanding Dance Performer.

Head Sergeant Mackenzie Lide was named the Outstanding Social Officer, and All American Dancers included Arzate, Burrows, Heeren, Nevaeh Bardwell, Grelyn Goolsby, Chloe Carter, and Emma Sellers. Honorable Mention All Americans were Lide, Ashleigh Amerson, Madison Craig, Carlie Cunningham, and Anna Kate Fisher.

Jaton Broach is the director of the Tiger Dolls.  


L to R: Grace Whitten and Jessie Parchman

MPHS Students Recognized at International HOSA Leadership Conference

Two Mount Pleasant High School students earned recognition at the HOSA 43rd Annual International Leadership Conference. The conference was online on June 24-27, 2020, and featured over 7,000 delegates from across the United States. 

Grace Whitten was recognized in HOSA Happenings, a multimedia chapter communication event using a print or electronic newsletter or website. Jessie Parchman earned the Barbara James Service Award (Silver Division), which provides recognition to individual HOSA members for volunteer service. 

Whitten, the daughter of John and Suzy Whitten, is a 2020 MPHS graduate and will attend The University of Arkansas. 

Parchman, the daughter of Jeff and Jamie Parchman, will return to MPHS as a junior this fall. MPHS HOSA advisors are Kristi Houchin, Angie Ayers, and Stephanie Bumpus.


Mount Pleasant High School and Chamber of Commerce 

award Academic Blankets

The annual Mount Pleasant High School Academic Blanket Awards Assembly looked a little different this year. The ceremony was on Thursday, June 25, in the parking lot of the MPISD Administration Building. They used a radio transmitter, and the recipients and their families were able to listen to the ceremony inside their vehicles, and honking replaced the usual applause. Presenting the blankets to the students were Richard Bonney, President and CEO of the Chamber of Commerce, Craig Bailey, MPHS Principal, and Kelli Glenn, MPHS Associate Principal.

In all, sixty-six MPHS students were awarded academic blankets for having the highest overall average in their respective subjects. Those 66 students only make up about 4% of the population of MPHS. The Academic Blanket Awards have been sponsored by the Mount Pleasant Chamber of Commerce for several years, with businesses vying to sponsor and purchase a blanket for a student.  

Those awarded 2020 Academic Blankets included:

Ashleigh Amerson (Practicum in Health Science I), Aachal Amin (Spanish II), Aaliyah Avellaneda (Law Enforcement), Manoa Bagsic (Spanish I Bilingual), Isai Baltazar (Band), Jacinto Barboza (Electrical Technology), Ashley Benyshek (Certified Nursing Assistant), Hailey Benyshek (Culinary Arts), Alondra Carrero (French II), Nic Chappell III (Algebra II), Parker Colley (Chemistry), Brock Cooper (Marketing Education), Shelby Courreges (Statistics), Connelly Cowan (AP Chemistry II), Natali Delgado (AP Biology II), Victor Diaz (AP Spanish Language), Anna Elliott (Practicum in Health Science II), Gaven Fife (Fashion Design), Jorge Garcia (Math Models), Brittney Godlock (Advanced Quantitative Reasoning), Isabella Greco (Pre-Calculus), Perla Guzman (Biology), Ethan Harbour (Geometry), Rylie Hardison (Dance), Mary Kait Heeren (Spanish III), Evan Hinkle (Ag Mechanics), Aliyaah Howard (Cosmetology), Natalie Howard (English IV), Taylor Hubbs (English II), Colby Hunnicutt (Government & Economics), Nia Jackson (French III), Carson Jetton (Scientific Research & Design), Camdon Johnson (English I), Mina Kollen Larsen (Communications), Savannah Mack (Theatre), Colton Majors (Construction Technology), Abby Mason (Physics), Samantha McClenan (Spanish I), Felicity Miller (Forensic Science), Rachell Moreno (Choir), Katie Ochoa (Health Science Theory), Baley O’Neal (Journalism-Yearbook), Savanna Palacios (Anatomy & Physiology), Joshlyn Paloblanco (AP Spanish Literature), Sam Pearson (AP Physics C), Reid Pinckard (US History), Keyla Plancarte (Education & Training), Param Poudel (World Geography), Brian Ramirez (Engineering), Isai Ramirez (Piano), Daniela Robles (Instructional Practice in Education), Maribel Rodarte (Business Information Management), Patricia Roque (Calculus), Laura Sanchez (Animal Science), Johnathan Sandate (World History), Sherlyn Sandoval (Accounting), Brock Shavers (Music Theory), Allyson Swafford (Agriscience), Taryn Thurman (English III), Ka Tonna Turner (Career Preparation), Melissa Vasquez (Algebra I), Michelle Vazquez (Environmental Systems), Paola Ventura (Art), Tyler Welborn (Sports Medicine), Grace Whitten (Journalism-Newspaper), and Dayanara Yepez (Spanish II Bilingual).