ETB Advertising Banner Header Terrie 1
Hess Bad Boy Header Promo 2024
Choctaw County EMS Star Life Conference Header
ETB Advertising Banner Header Terrie 2
Sandlin Header 2022
Better View Tree Trimming Header Ad
Cypress Basin Hospice 2023 Header
Mark Patrick Header 2020

MPISD – News

Leslie Espinoza, Elizabeth Lockett, and Megan Adams prepare to record their entry, and FBLA team members Gavin Rider and Tyler Welborn set up the recording equipment.

Taryn Thurman and Nicholas Segovia prepare their submission.

Contact: Kelly Cowan

Mount Pleasant High School FBLA students advance to State

The Mount Pleasant High School Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA) students competed virtually in the Area VI FBLA Leadership Conference and successfully showed. Twenty-three students placed first, and a total of thirty-eight team members qualified for State. They will compete for the virtual FBLA State Leadership Conference on March 1, with awards announced at the end of March.

The top four in each event of the area advance to State. Advancing to State for MPHS are:
Accounting1—Rylan Hubbs (2nd place)
Advertising—Emma Baggett (2nd place), Tairelle Chong (4th place)
Broadcast Journalism—Megan Adams, Leslie Espinoza, and Elizabeth Lockett (1st place)
Business Calculations—Miguel Segura (1st), Patricia Roque (2nd), Peyton Hein (3rd)
Business Ethics—Nevaeh Bardwell and Mary Kait Heeren (1st place)
Computer Problem Solving—Abby Phelan (2nd place)
Digital Video—Pablo Mata, Elijah Rider, and Gavin Rider (1st place)
E-Business—Rossy Banegas (1st place)
Healthcare Admin—Faith Logan (3rd place), Jessie Nell Parchman (4th place)
Intro to Business Communications—Reese Ball (2nd place), Abigail Retana (3rd place)
Intro to Business Procedures—Sophie Greco (1st place)
Intro to Event Planning—Desirea Easley and Hope Powell (1st place)
Intro to Public Speaking—Angelina Hernandez (2nd place)
Job Interview—Anthony Orellana (1st place)
Marketing—Nicholas Segovia and Taryn Thurman (1st place)
Political Science—Kylie Hedge (2nd place), Michelle Calderon (3rd place)
PSA—Isabella Greco, Taylor Hubbs, and Ryan Sharp (1st place)
Publication Design—Gaven Fife and Joshlyn Paloblanco (1st place)
Sales Presentation—Tyler Welborn (2nd place)
Website Design—Alejandra Ramirez, Victor Diaz, and Sashi Poudel (1st place)

Also placing in their events were Luz Gonzalez, 5th place in Healthcare Administration, and Madison Adams, 5th place in Journalism.
At the Area VI Leadership Conference, Taylor Hubbs was selected Who’s Who award recipient for Mount Pleasant and is a finalist for Area VI Vice President.

“This year was one of the more challenging ones for our FBLA members.,” said Advisor John Whitten. “Due to COVID, students were unable to compete for face-to-face as they normally would. Instead, they held all of their competition virtually, making it even more challenging for our students with presentation events. Students had to record their presentations with no judges present and simulate them as if judges were present. Despite all of the challenges, our students rose to the occasion and represented MPHS very well. I am extremely proud of our students and look forward to them competing and doing their best on the state level.”

The Advisors for MPHS FBLA are Whitten, Shanta Lockett, and Jessie McDowell.

State qualifiers (L to R): 
Jordi Bello, Jillian Adair, Brianne Davis, Abril Ramirez, Migel Guerrero, Jacori Turner, Hope Powell, Jashari Inostros, Emyly Lopez (not pictured, Dulce Rivera)

First row (L to R): Jillian Adair, Brianne Davis, Abril Ramirez, Jordi Bello, Migel Guerrero, Jashari Inostros, Emyly Lopez, Jacori Turner, Hope Powell
Second row (L to R): Litzy Gonzalez, Jose Escobar, James Yepez, Anthony Ramirez, Adrian Perez, Sha’Alice Tyson, Emily Pearson (not pictured, Dulce Rivera, Kevin Garcia Ortiz, and James Yepez)

Contact: Kelly Cowan

MPHS Choir members earn superior ratings, advance to State

Eighteen Mount Pleasant High School Choir members competed at the Regional UIL Solo and Ensemble Contest at Trinity Baptist Church on Friday, February 5th singing various art and folk songs. Of those, ten MPHS soloists have advanced to the State contest. To qualify for the state solo and ensemble contest, a student must score a “1” on a Class 1 solo, the most difficult to memorize and perform.

MPHS state solo qualifiers include Jillian Adair, Jordi Bello, Brianne Davis, Migel Guerrero, Jashari Inostros, Emyly Lopez, Hope Powell, Abril Ramirez, Dulce Rivera, and Jacori Turner.

Eight members received 2nd division ratings, including Kevin Garcia Ortiz, Emily Pearson, Adrian Perez, Jose Escobar, Litzy Gonzalez, Anthony Ramirez, Sha’Alice Ty’Son, and James Yepez.

The state contest will be held virtually on May 29-31. Nancy Vines direct the MPHS Choir with accompaniment provided by Deanna Warren.