Mark Patrick Header 2020
Choctaw County EMS Star Life Conference Header
Cypress Basin Hospice 2023 Header
ETB Advertising Banner Header Terrie 2
Better View Tree Trimming Header Ad
Hess Bad Boy Header Promo 2024
Sandlin Header 2022
ETB Advertising Banner Header Terrie 1

MPISD – News

Emily Crabb and Mount Pleasant Pilot Club member, Becky Meriwether

Wallace Middle School sixth-grader, Emily Crabb, won the Pilot Club Veteran’s Day essay contest. Crabb read her essay, “I’m proud to be an American,” during the Wallace Veteran’s Day program on Nov 11. She is the daughter of Jeffery and Leah Crabb.


Contact: Kelly Cowan

MPHS NHS members attend Leadership Conference

The Mount Pleasant High School chapter of the National Honor Society (NHS) attended a Leadership Conference in the MPHS Auditorium on November 4. NHS members listened to guest speakers about community service, financial responsibility, character, life-long learning, leadership, and civic responsibility.

Judd Marshall, MPISD Superintendent, spoke to the group about the state of public education and the challenges presented with the COVID-19 pandemic. Melissa Moulton, Marketing & Development Director for Titus County Cares, stressed the importance of community service and being invested in your community. Jason Reid, Owner/Agent at State Farm Insurance, gave the students tips on establishing good credit once they graduate and the importance of financial responsibility. District Attorney, The Honorable Will Ramsay, spoke to the members about maintaining good character. Dr. Andrew Yox, Professor of History at Northeast Texas Community College, talked about scholarship and passion for learning throughout life.

Richard Bonney, President and CEO of the Mount Pleasant Chamber of Commerce talked to the students about being leaders in their communities. The conference wrapped up with Cole Hefner, Texas House of Representatives District 5, who spoke to the students about their civic responsibilities, the importance of staying informed, and voting. After the conference, NHS members were treated to lunch, prepared, and served by students in the MPHS Culinary Arts department.

David Clark, MPHS NHS Advisor, said, “The feedback from the students was amazing. They really seemed to get a lot out of the conference. We wanted to provide the students with information that would help them be better leaders for tomorrow. That is what they got. Our community is blessed with great leaders who want to impart their experiences to our students. NHS at MPHS wants to grow this into an annual event.”


(L to R) First row: Taylor Hubbs, Connelly Cowan, Anthony Orellana 
Second row: Merlin Cardona, Angie Hernandez, Coach Enrique Martinez

Contact: Kelly Cowan

MPHS Congressional Debaters advance to state

Mount Pleasant High School Speech and Debate competed in the Regional Congressional Debate tournament at the Region VIII Education Service Center on Thursday, November 11. Competing against other 5A schools in our region, Mount Pleasant High School had a great showing taking 1st, 2nd, 4th, and 5th places in the competition.

Senior Connelly Cowan was the Regional Champion, with senior Taylor Hubbs placing 2nd, advancing both to the state meet in January. It will be the third state trip for Cowan and the first for Hubbs. Cowan holds the 4th place UIL state medal in Congressional Debate from 2020 and a bronze from 2021.

Junior Anthony Orellana was named the Regional Top Presiding Officer and earned a 4th place medal making him an alternate to state with junior Merlin Cardona placing 5th.

UIL Congress is an individual contest in a large group setting. It models the legislative process of democracy, specifically, the United States Congress. Contestants draft legislation (proposed laws and position statements) submitted to the tournament within this mock legislative assembly competition. Before the contest, they research the docket of bills and resolutions dealing with real-world social and political policies to prepare their speeches. At the tournament, students caucus in committees, deliver a formal discourse on the merits and disadvantages of each piece of legislation and vote to pass or defeat the measures they have examined. Parliamentary procedure forms structure for the discourse, and students extemporaneously respond to others’ arguments throughout a session.

In Austin, Cowan and Hubbs will compete at the UIL State Congressional Debate tournament on January 11 and 12, 2022. 

Enrique Martinez coaches them.


The 2021-2022 Corprew NEHS members

Corprew Elementary inducts students into the National Elementary Honor Society.

Thirty-one Corprew Elementary School 4th graders became members of the National Elementary Honor Society (NEHS) as the Corprew NEHS Chapter held their annual induction ceremony on Thursday, November 11.

The students and the audience of family members, Corprew teachers, and staff listened as the chapter officers explained the criteria for membership and the four characteristics of an NEHS member: scholarship, responsibility, service, and leadership. Chapter officers for 2021-2022 include President Ulisses Mata, Vice President Mahir Estrada, Secretary Ze’Kireyah Hargrave, and Treasurer Christian Krugh. Aydia Rector and Autumn Sharp, new members, led the pledges to the American and Texas flags, and Lucy Miller led the invocation.

The guest speaker was Mount Pleasant High School National Honor Society Parliamentarian and National Technical Honor Society President Delaila Aleman.

To be a member of NEHS, a student must meet or exceed the national minimum standard of a cumulative average grade of 85%. NEHS recognizes 4th-grade students for their outstanding academic achievement and demonstrated personal responsibility. They also judge students on their level of personal responsibility. The organization seeks to provide meaningful service activities for students to the school and the community and develop essential leadership skills in elementary school students.

The 2021-2022 inductees into the Corprew NEHS Chapter are Uriel Almazan, Arely Barbosa, Margaret Barbosa, Jennifer Barboza, Jesus Beltran Regalado, Mateo Canada Victoria, Abel Castaneda, Krystopher Castro, Emmanuel Chavez, Mahir Estrada (Vice President), Maritza Equihua, Cinthya Garcia, Gustavo Garcia, Kennedy Garcia Blancas, Vicky Gutierrez, Rafael Gracia, Ze’Kireyah Hargrave (Secretary), Christian Krugh (Treasurer), Elizabeth Lopez, Norberto Lopez, Ulisses Mata (President), Lucy Miller, Ayden Moore, Michelle Pineda Dorantes, Camilo Ramirez, Fernanda Ramirez, Aydia Rector, Jackeline Rodas, Sarai Rodriguez, Juan Serna Rodriguez, and Autumn Sharp.