Hess Lawn Mower Header
Momentum Can-Am In Stock Header
ETB Advertising Banner Header Terrie 1
Erin Conrad – Edward Jones Header
ETB Advertising Banner Header Terrie 2
Cypress Basin Hospice 2023 Header

MPISD – News

MP FFA Livestock Judging team (L to R): Malakai Hopson, AJ Jeff, Kaylee Rosewell, and Lizbeth Presa.

Contact: Kelly Cowan

MPHS FFA Livestock Judging Team Competes at Lamar County

Mount Pleasant High School FFA members competed at the Lamar County 4-H Livestock Judging Contest held at the Lamar County Fairgrounds in Paris on Tuesday, Jan 11. Fifty-three FFA and 4-H Livestock Judging teams from Northeast Texas competed in three different age divisions.

MPHS Livestock Judging team members AJ Jeff, Kaylee Rosewell, Lizbeth Presa, and Malakai Hopson placed 7th in the intermediate age division. During the competition, they ask students to judge cattle, pigs, goats, and sheep on various aspects of market and breeding standards of perfection. The Lamar County contest was one of several planned invitational contests in which team members will compete to prepare for the Area 6 FFA Career Development Event (CDE) held in April. Christi Lowry advises the Livestock Judging team.

Taylor Hubbs and Connelly Cowan
Cowan takes the Oath of Office in 5A finals at the Texas State Capitol.

MPHS Debate competes at UIL Congress State Championships

The 2022 UIL State Congress Championships would return to in-person competitions for UIL Debate in two years. MPHS seniors Connelly Cowan and Taylor Hubbs traveled to Austin, where they would compete against the best in the state in the Congressional Debate.

On day one at the University Teaching Center at The University of Texas at Austin, fifty-one 5A competitors representing thirty-eight high schools from across Texas. They split them into three groups of 17, known as Chambers. After two preliminary rounds, the top six competitors from each chamber would advance to day two, known as Super Congress. At the end of day one, Cowan moved to day two, with Hubbs narrowly missing advancing by just one place.

On day two, the eighteen 5A finalists would compete on the floor of the Texas State Capitol. Cowan finished as the 7th ranked Congressional Debater for the 2021-2022 season. Later this month, she and Hubbs will shift their focus to the CX District meet.

“Competing at Congress State the last three years has been an integral part of my high school career,” said Cowan. “Researching and debating legislation in the State Capitol helped me realize what I want to do with the rest of my life. I am so grateful for the support of my parents, coach, and team.”

The following events for the MPHS Speech and Debate are the Cross-Examination District Meet on January 27 at the Region VIII Service Center and the NSDA National Qualifying tournament on February 17-19 at UT-Tyler. Enrique Martinez coaches MPHS Speech and Debate.

Wallace Middle School presents Madagascar—A Musical Adventure JR.

MPISD and Wallace Middle School cordially invite the public to the Wallace Middle School musical, Madagascar, A Musical Adventure JR. is based on the smash DreamWorks animated motion picture, Madagascar. It is a Musical Adventure JR. following all of your favorite crack-a-lackin’ friends as they escape from their home in New York’s Central Park Zoo and find themselves on an unexpected journey to the madcap world of King Julien’s Madagascar.

The cast features Emily Crabb as Alex, Jayden Baker as Marty, Khiya Bolton as Gloria, Gabriel Castaneda as Melman, Se’ Huntley as Skipper, Annie Crabb as Kowalski, Jesse Parra as Private, Ray Munoz as Rico, Jalyssa Duenez as Zookeeper Zelda, Nicholas Gonzalez as Zookeeper Zeke, Paris Shelton as Zookeeper Zoe, Shelby Hinton as Mason, Zavian Loewen as King Julien, Mario Hernandez as Maurice, Gavin Hays as Mort, Angel De La Cruz as Lynn, Uzziah Vasquez as Lew, Alison Hernandez as Lee, Kyla Berel, Ximena Flores, Maleyah Fisher, Evonne Moyao, and Michelle Garrett as the Fossa, Leslie Hernandez, Charisma Crabtree, Sondryce Wilder, and Aamori Cheatam as Lionesses, La’Nae Moore as Ship’s Captain, Alexandra Santos as Cameraman and Newspaper Man, Grace Berry as Candy Hammernose, Makenna Forsyth as Passerby, Aileen Badillo as Old Lady, Nicholas Gonzalez as Police Officer, and Grace Berry, Makenna Forsyth, Alison Hernandez, Charisma Dickson, Ella Rosewell, La’Nae Moore, Theresa Parker, Maleyah Fisher, Gavin Hays, Zavian Loewen, Mario Hernandez, Uzziah Vasquez, and Angel De La Cruz as Zoo Guests/New Yorkers.

There are two performances open to the public:

*Friday, January 28 at 7:00 pm. This performance is free.

*Saturday, January 29, is a dinner theatre fundraiser for the Wallace theatre and choir departments. The MPHS Culinary Arts students will cater dinner. 

Tickets are available now at www.mpisd.net/athletic-tickets and are $10.00 for adults and $5.00 for students and children. After January 21, the price goes up to $12.00 for adults and $6.00 for students and children. Dinner will be at 5:45 pm, with the show beginning at 7:00 pm.

The Wallace Middle School musical production is under the direction of Diane Swiger, with assistance provided by Bridget Arevalos.

Based on the DreamWorks Animation Motion Picture Book by Kevin Del Aguila Original Music and Lyrics by George Noriega & Joel Someillan
Madagascar – A Musical Adventure JR. presented through special arrangement with and all authorized materials are supplied by 
Music Theatre International, New York, NY  (212) 541-4684 mtishows.com 

Pleasant High School3rd Six Weeks

All “A” Honor Roll

9th Grade

Jasmin Alvarez, Yoselin Amador, Gopi Amin, Katherine Ball, Alan Barrientos, Danika Beckham, Haley Carr, Samuel Chappell, Emely Chavelas, Angel Chavez, Angel Cintron Vargas, Diya Desai, Bianca Garcia, Jose Gonzalez, Addison Heeren, Ascension Hernandez, Karen Hernandez, Tania Hernandez, Christian Johnson, Devon Keith, Monserrat Lopez, Nayeli Lujano, Tanner Marshall, Amir Martinez, Josue’ Martinez, Kevin Mendoza, Yahaira Pina, Luisa Rodriguez, Mia Ross, Amy Santillan, Araceli Solis, Christopher Sorto, Luke Thurman, Diego Ugalde

10th Grade

Sidney Beles, Dylan Bennett, Ella Cross, Caroline Currey, Clinton DeBord, Rebecca Elrod, John David Freeman, Ismael Galicia, Estefani Garcia, Ana Garrett, Sophie Greco, Owen Green, Abigail Gutierrez Takahashi, Angelina Hernandez, Rocio Herrera, Nathaniel Martinez, Rebecca Martinez, Annie Munoz, Joel Palacios, Andrew Perez, Fernando Robles, Kiara Rundles, Orion Senence, Makayla Spigner, Diana Vargas, Conlee Zachry, Beverly Zuniga

11th Grade

Wendy Alarcon, Saul Alvarado, Erick Astudillo, VanessaJane Bayna, Evan Cantu, Natalie Crockett, Rosa Delgado, Luis Fuentes Jr, Litzy Gonzalez, Pilar Gonzalez, Ethan Harbour, Nayeli Jaimes, Camdon Johnson, Collin Moss, Lizeth Navarro, Nancy Netro, Yadeline Perez Valentin, Katherine Phelan, Kimberly Pina, Esmeralda Ramirez, Dulce Rivera, Nayeli Rivera, Katherine Rosales, Amy Vazquez, Javier Vazquez

12th Grade

Odalys Adame, Yoana Amador, Rossy Banegas Garcia, Nevaeh Bardwell, Lainy Blackstone, Jacob Bristow, Vanessa Buendia, Emma Burrows, George Burrows, Maritza Castro, Kyle Cates, Henry Chappell III, Parker Colley, Keanie Covarrubias, Connelly Cowan, Eduardo Espinoza, Karigan Fox, Orlando Garcia Vazquez, Mahogany Grundy, Mary Kait Heeren, Taylor Hubbs, Norberto Martinez, Sean McCrumby, Tyson Minter, Katherine Ochoa, Yovanny Pacheco, Cadance Perez, Juliana Perez, Neida Perez, Abril Ramirez, Evelyn Rodriguez, Guillermo Sanchez-Medina, Sam Sloan, Erica Soc Cardenas, Jonathan Tepetate, Keller Thompson, Esteban Trejo, Micah Tucker, Jennifer Villarreal, Anna Claire Wall, Dalton Woods, Yael Zavala, Filippo Zunino