ETB Advertising Banner Header Terrie 1
Momentum Can-Am In Stock Header
ETB Advertising Banner Header Terrie 2
cypress basin hospice
Hess Furniture Appliances Banner Header
Erin Conrad – Edward Jones Header

MPISD – News

BIM I instructor Jackie Scoggins with Lee Davis holding the autographed photo from L.A. Beast.

Contact: Kelly Cowan

MPHS junior receives a surprise from internet celebrity

In the Career and Technology Department at Mount Pleasant High School, the Business Information Management I (BIM I) class in the Business cluster aims to develop technical skills with applications to personal or business situations. This course focuses on word processing, spreadsheets, databases, desktop publishing, presentation management, telecommunications, networking, operating systems, emerging technologies, and intermediate-level skills.

As part of the personal business letter lesson, students chose a celebrity, researched their fan mail address, and composed a letter to the celebrity explaining why they were writing the letter, why they chose them and asked for an autographed photo. For example, MPHS junior, Lee Davis, wrote to L.A. Beast, a YouTube sensation and competitive eater whose YouTube channel has over 2.8 million subscribers. His videos have 500 million total views as of 2023. In addition to his online presence, he has made appearances on The Tonight Show with Jay Leno, The Today Show Australia, and Tosh.0. 

Davis recently received an autographed photo with L.A. Beast writing on the picture, “I hope you get an A+!!!” BIM I is taught by Jackie Scoggins.


MPHS Congress State qualifiers (L to R): Merlin Cardona, Angelina Hernandez, Anthony Orellana

Anthony Orellana prepares to debate at the Texas State Capitol

Anthony Orellana takes the Oath of Office in 5A finals at the Texas State Capitol

MPHS Debate competes at UIL Congress State Championships

Five members of Mount Pleasant High School Speech and Debate traveled to Austin to compete in the UIL Congress State Tournament on January 4-5, 2023. Seniors Anthony Orellana and Merlin Cardona and junior Angelina Hernandez represented MPHS and Region 8 in the 5A Division, with sophomore Gopi Amin and senior Elijah Rider making the trip as alternate competitors.

On day one at the University Teaching Center at The University of Texas at Austin, fifty-two 5A competitors represented thirty-two high schools across Texas. They split into three groups known as Chambers. After two preliminary rounds, the top six competitors from each Chamber would advance to day two, known as Super Congress. At the end of day one, Orellana moved to day two as the top scorer in his Chamber and among all fifty-two 5A competitors.

On day two, the eighteen 5A finalists would compete on the floor of the Texas State Capitol. Orellana finished among the top 18 Congressional Debaters in Texas for the 2022-2023 season.

“Competing at Congress State has been a blast,” said Orellana. “I got to meet new people and experience the ambiance at the State Capitol, where our representatives write and debate legislation. I am so grateful for the support of my friends, family, community members, and the team.”

The following significant events for MPHS Speech and Debate are the Cross-Examination District meet in January and the NSDA National Qualifying tournament in February.  

Mount Pleasant High School

3rd Six Weeks

All “A” Honor Roll

9th Grade

Brissia Alvarez, Alberto Avila, Jasmine Briones, Ethan Carrillo, Valerie Cassio, Julian Chancellor, Jahayra Chavez, Carter Chism, Valerie Colocho, Carter Cook, Aaliyah DeLaRosa, Sandy Farias, Abril Figueroa Ruiz, Audrey Fisher, Esther Gonzalez, Alessandro Greco, Alegandro Guerrero, Yaimari Gutierrez, Ana Lara, Jennifer Luna, Kayleigh Martin, Jaydy Martinez, Maribel Ramirez, Bella Reyes, Miguel Rodarte Jr, Keith Standefer, Kortland Stovall, Valeria Vega 

10th Grade

Jasmin Alvarez, Gopi Amin, Katherine Ball, Melanie Barraza, Alan Barrientos, Samuel Chappell, Diya Desai, Ezekiel Flores, Stephanie Guerrero, Sidney Harbour, Madison Hargrave, Addison Heeren, Kelsey Howard, William Johnson, Jazlynn Juarez, Joyce Luke, Tanner Marshall, Amir Martinez, Yahaira Pina, Jayden Tarrant, Hayden Tennison, Luke Thurman, Diego Ugalde

11th Grade

Daniel Adame, Genesis Aguilar, Addison Amerson, Hannah Anderson, Adrian Arce, Karson Brown, Marisol Cardona, Nicholas Cates, Ana Ceballos, Kaylee Connally, Ella Cross, Caroline Currey, Brianne Davis, Clinton DeBord, Leslie DeLaCruz, Drew Dyke, Rebecca Elrod, Analee Escalante, Perla Ferretiz-Dominguez, John Freeman, Ismael Galicia, Elva Garcia, Estefani Garcia, Yahir Garcia, Isabel Garza Aguirre, Brianha Gonzales, Sophie Greco, Owen Green, Abigail Gutierrez Takahashi, Zachary Haygood, Stephanie Hernandez, Antez Jeffery, Jillian Jetton, Araceli Landaverde, Silvia Lopez, Suhey Lopez, Jocelyn Marroquin, Nathaniel Martinez, Yalit Mata, Mason McMinn, Clayton Miller, Salvador Moreno, Jeisy Munoz Salazar, Zoe Newman, Joel Palacios, Tisha Patel, Andrianna Price, Kai Price, Bianca Quistian, Orion Senence, Enrique Serrano, Makayla Spigner, Daniel Sunderland, Joseph Tolentino, Emilia Vega, Harrison Wall, Conlee Zachry, Michelle Zelaya, Beverly Zuniga

12th Grade

Manoa Bagsic, Reese Ball, VanessaJane Bayna, Paris Beard, Hannah Bowles, Clayton Brison, Brazos Brown, Devin Castaneda, Heslie Castanon, Natalie Crockett, Melanie De La Cruz, Norma Delgado, Paulina Diaz Ramirez, Lincoln Ellis, Mauricio Farias Jr., Luis Garcia, Jackie Gonzalez, Pilar Gonzalez, Perla Guzman, Luke Hampton, Ethan Harbour, Isaac Hernandez, Raegan Houchin, Rylan Hubbs, Camdon Johnson, Jett Long, Gyselle Lozano, William Luck, Alison Majors, Chelsea Maldonado, Jayleen Martinez, Samantha McClenan, Garrett McQueen, Dana Memije, Lizeth Navarro, Nancy Netro, Anthony Orellana, Adriana Orona, Yadeline Perez Valentin, Matthew Peterson, Kimberly Pina, Madeline Plascencia, Param Poudel, Yolet Ramirez, Elijah Rider, Xitlali Rivas, Natalie Rodriguez, Chris Russell, Fernanda Salazar, Briana Sanchez, Emma Kay Sellers, Micah Shepherd, Lolita Solis, Jose Trejo, Evelyn Valente, Amy Vazquez, Javier Vazquez, Michelle Vazquez, Raul Vazquez, Kendall Walker, Jack Welborn, Alan Zermeno