Cypress Basin Hospice 2023 Header
ETB Advertising Banner Header Terrie 1
Sandlin Header 2022
ETB Advertising Banner Header Terrie 2
Better View Tree Trimming Header Ad

MPISD – News

MPHS JVA Winter Guard

MPHS Varsity Winter Guard

JVA performs their show, “Vivir Mi Vida”

Varsity performs their show, “Running Circles’ Round My Mind”

Pictured: members of the 2022-2023 MPHS UIL Academic team 


Kelly Cowan

Mount Pleasant High School Varsity Winter Guard wins Championship in Mansfield.

The Mount Pleasant High School Varsity and JVA Winter Guard teams traveled to the Winter Guard International (WGI) Mansfield Regional at Lake Ridge High School in Mansfield on Saturday, February 18. Thirty-three teams, ranging from 4A-6A, competed in the Scholastic A division. Both the Varsity and JVA competed against each other in the same classification.

After prelims, the Varsity placed 1st out of 11 teams in their round, with JVA placing 3rd out of 11. The top 16 teams, regardless of competition, advanced to finals later that night. After all preliminary rounds, Varsity was ranked 1st overall, with JVA in 9th place, moving them to the finals. 

Both teams had another great showing in the finals. MPHS Varsity won the WGI Mansfield Regional Scholastic A Championship, and JVA took 9th place in finals defeating multiple large 6A Varsity programs from the DFW metroplex area.

All four teams will travel to Longview on February 25 for the North Texas Colorguard contest at Pine Tree High School. The Mount Pleasant High School Colorguard program is under the direction of Cristian Gomez.

MPHS UIL places 2nd at Sulphur Springs

The Mount Pleasant High School UIL Academic team completed its final push toward the district at the Judy Tipping Memorial UIL Invitational Meet at Sulphur Springs High School on February 17-18. It was the last meet for the entire academic team before spring break, with the district meet scheduled just a few days after they returned to classes. Five events (Spelling, Calculator, Accounting, Mathematics, and Number Sense) placed 1st as a team, and three (Science, Current Events, and Social Studies) came 2nd as a team.

Full results include:

-Spelling (1st place team) 

Sophie Greco 1st, Isabel Gonzales 2nd, Angelina Hernandez

-Calculator Applications (1st place team)

9th grade: Alessandro Greco 1st

10th grade: Tanner Marshall 1st, Yahaira Pina 2nd, Sam Chappell 3rd, Kate Ball 4th

11th grade: Nathaniel Martinez 1st, Kiara Rundles 2nd

12th grade: Devin Castaneda 1st, Param Poudel 2nd, Isaac Hernandez 3rd, Ethan Harbour 4th, Merlin Cardona 6th

-Accounting (1st place team)

Perla Guzman 3rd, Jose Trejo 4th, Merlin Cardona 6th 

-Mathematics (1st place team)

10th grade: Tanner Marshall 1st, Yahaira Pina 2nd, Jesus Moreno 6th

11th grade: Nathaniel Martinez 1st

12th grade: Isaac Hernandez 1st, Param Poudel 2nd, Perla Guzman 3rd, Devin Castaneda 4th, Natalie Crockett 5th, Ethan Harbour 6th

Overall: Isaac Hernandez 1st, Param Poudel 2nd, Nathaniel Martinez 3rd, Perla Guzman 4th, Devin Castaneda 5th, Natalie Crockett 6th

-Number Sense (1st place team)

10th grade: Tanner Marshall 1st, Jesus Moreno 2nd, Evan Cota 4th, Araceli Solis 5th, Steffanie Espiritu 6th

11th grade: Nathaniel Martinez 3rd, Kiara Rundles 4th

12th grade: Ethan Harbour 1st, Jose Trejo 2nd, Param Poudel 3rd, Perla Guzman 4th

Overall: Ethan Harbour 1st, Jose Trejo 2nd, Tanner Marshall 3rd, Param Poudel 5th

-Science (2nd place team)

10th grade: Kevin Mendoza 3rd

11th grade: Nathaniel Martinez 5th

12th grade: Natalie Crockett 1st (Top Biology), Ethan Harbour 2nd

Overall: Natalie Crockett 5th, Ethan Harbour 6th

-Current Events (2nd place team)

Natalie Crockett 2nd, Eli Rider 5th, Anthony Orellana, Natalia Aspeitia 

-Social Studies (2nd place team) 

Vanessajane Bayna 2nd, Estven Perez 5th 

-Persuasive Extemporaneous Speaking

Anthony Orellana 1st, Eli Rider 2nd 


Copy Editing: Idania Castanon 4th, Noemy Dorantes 5th, Evelyn Hernandez 6th 

News Writing: Idania Castanon 4th, Noemy Dorantes 5th, Ana Ceballos 6th 

Feature Writing: Idania Castanon 3rd, Ana Ceballos 5th, Noemy Dorantes 6th 

 Headline Writing: Evelyn Hernandez 2nd, Idania Castanon 5th, Ana Ceballos 6th

-Ready Writing 

Sophie Greco 4th 


Madeline Tumey-Simmons 1st 

The MPHS UIL Math and Current event teams will travel to A&M Consolidated High School in College Station on February 24-25 for their final invitational meet of the season. The District UIL meeting is March 24-25 in Whitehouse.


4th Six weeks “A” Honor Roll

5th grade

Jimmy Aguilar, Spencer Anderson, Kennedy Baker, Kodi Baldwin, Zachary Cabrera-Bryan, Jeremiah Campbell, Mateo Canada Victoria, Mercedes Chavez, Kevin Contreras, Shane Craig, Kaylee De La Cruz, Kaylee Delacruz, Maritza Equihua, Brenna Farley, Jaqueline Garcia, Kelvin Garcia, Dayra Gonzalez, Esmeralda Guerrero, Tomas Guerrero Jr., Angel Guevara, Vicky Gutierrez, Piper Hearron, Aiden Hendricks, Lillian Henry, Maxi Hernandez, Irene Hernandez-Mata, Bradlee Hughes, Tiana James, Aubriella Knieriem, Scottlyn Lee, Norberto Lopez, Karli Lowry, Ariadnna Martinez, Ulisses Mata, Kaylob Mendoza, Stephanie Mendoza, Juan Mercado, Kaycee Moran, Miguel Moreno, Joshua Morrison, Justin Moss, Braylee Noguera, Maddox Osornio, Sebastian Otero, Jaidyn Parslow, Salem Perez, Maria Perez-Velaquez, Boone Priefert, Tucker Priefert, Fernanda Ramirez, Aydia Rector, Kaydi Rogers, Jarrett Saldana, Axel Sanchez, Erica Sandoval, Josiah Segovia, Devan Shelley, Treniti Shepard, Josiah Shepherd, Dominick Sierra, Channing Smith, Brogan Stewart, Idreanna Thomas, Abigail Tolentino, Caleb Townson, Kevin Valdovinos, Aubrey White

6th grade

Wyatt Adkins, Ella Clare Anderson, Jake Anderson, Gabriel Arredondo, Ella Bonilla, Jaliyah Brown, Cassidy Burns, Titus Byrd, Chelsi Campbell, Caleb Carr, Maria Castillo De La Torre, Emylee Chappell, Ian Crockett, Daisy Nevaeh Diaz, Bryant Fisk, Luis Garcia Diaz, Nicolas Gonzalez, Jaylen Gutierrez, Aubree Hawkins, Julian Herrera, Cullen Hunnicutt, Sage Jordan, Juliet Luna, Anahi Martinez, Emilee Martinez, Hannah Joy Martinez, Ana Martinez Zelaya, Drason McDaniel, Ricardo Moreno, Krystal Moya, Nikolas Murr, Yoseline Nava, Joshua Pantoja, Cristal Ramirez Arreola, Logan Ritchie, Draven Roberts, Adaly Rosales, Vianney Rosales, Kaiser Sheppard, Aileen Sorto, Roberto Vazquez, Abigail Verner, A’leejiah Washington,