Sandlin Header 2022
Cypress Basin Hospice 2023 Header
ETB Advertising Banner Header Terrie 1
ETB Advertising Banner Header Terrie 2
Header Mowers Header 2024
Paris Regional Health Header

MPISD – News

2019-2020 NTHS officers and new members

Contact: Kelly Cowan

MPHS National Technical Honor Society holds induction 

Forty-four Mount Pleasant High School students were inducted into the National Technical Honor Society (NTHS) at a candlelight ceremony on October 14.

To be a member of NTHS, a student must be enrolled in a Career and Technical Education (CTE) class, maintain a cumulative weighted GPA of 5.1, be a member of a CTE organization (FBLA, HOSA, SkillsUSA, FFA, FCCLA, TPSA), complete service hours, and maintain a clean discipline record. The 44 juniors and seniors join the 25 returning senior members.

New members for 2019-2020 are: Madison Adams, Megan Adams, Ashleigh Amerson, Jacinto Barboza, Alicia Bello, Ashley Benyshek, Hailey Benyshek, Aunesti Brannon, Ashlyn Brooks, Lily Burrows, Ruben Carreon, Saide Carrillo, Ke’mya Davis, Jenifer Deciga, Deyanira Delgado, Estela Dorantes, Anna Elliott, Haidie Fielder, Christian Flores, Cristy Garcia, David Garcia, Alvin Gonzalez, Maritza Gonzalez, Anna Harris, Peyton Hein, Vanesa Hernandez, Alexandra Ibanez, Jacqueline Juarez, Jennifer Leyva, Faith Logan, Jaquelin Lomeli, Sakinah Mason, Nataly Morales, Valeria Moreno, Leslie Olvera, Sashi Poudel, Samantha Phillips, Essence Ponce, Omar Ramirez, Maira Rocha, Alex Rogers, Patricia Roque, Allyson Swafford, and Emily Walden.

The returning senior members are Clara Alvarado, Aaliyah Avellaneda, Daisy Bautista (Reporter), Keatra Brown (Secretary), Baylee Craig, Jose Flores, Virginia Fuentes (President), Erika Galindo, Natalie Howard, Maggie Lilly, Abigail Mason (Vice President), Felicity Miller, Ariel Parr, Keyla Plancarte, Jackelyn Puente, Hilda Rodriguez, McKenzi Rolf, Laura Sanchez, Lizbeth Tavares (Officer at Large), Jaquelyn Torres, Debora Trejo (Historian), Sophy Turner, Heriberto Vargas, Paola Ventura, and Viridiana Ysasi (Treasurer). Sponsors for the organization are MPHS Career and Technology teachers Donna Davis and Jackie Scoggins. 


Mount Pleasant ISD eighth-grader, Summer Murillo, has been named the winner of the Mount Pleasant Junior High Yearbook Cover Design contest. Murillo’s artwork will be the cover of the 2019-2020 MPJH yearbook, and she will receive a free yearbook as well.


Mount Pleasant High School Department of Theatre presenting two plays in October

The faculty and students of Mount Pleasant High School Theatre Arts are proud to announce their first production of the year! On Tuesday and Thursday (Oct 22-24), they will present the winner of the 1982 American Theatre Critics Association Award, Best Regional Play – “Talking With.”

This play presents 11 women who bare their souls to the audience who sit safely in the dark – or so they think. Each of the monologues reveals the struggles of the person speaking. 

The play includes pieces titled “Fifteen Minutes,” “Scraps,” “Clear Glass Marbles,” “Audition,” “Rodeo,” “Twirler,” “Lamps,” “Handler,” “Dragons,” “French Fries,” and “Marks.” It premiered at the Manhattan Theatre Club in New York in 1982 and performed around the world. 

The play deals with the personal ordeals of each of the female characters. Many of them are very touching; a few are even intensely emotional. However, some scenes will make you laugh. But even the funny ones, have an underlying depth to them that gives a sensitive insight into each of the characters’ lives. The ladies cover a full spectrum of experience and age. The opening title, “Fifteen Minutes,” starts the performance. It is about an experienced actress who is preparing to go on stage, but she is looking for a little understanding on a personal level. It ends with the fading rodeo star in “Rodeo,” lamenting the state of rodeo today, to the young aspiring actress in “Audition.” We witness much tenderness and diversity in the subject matter. Ultimately, we are all invited to allow life to touch us and to be grateful for the experiences that make us who we are. 

The cast includes Lexie Humber, Karla Prado, Daniela Palomo, Sharon Zambrano, Victoria Cabrera, Reese Loving, Pearl Murillo, Aeryn Mast, Ashanti Presley, Silvia Sustaita, and Savannah Mack. 

You are also invited to stay after the show for a preview of the Mount Pleasant H.S. entry in the UIL One-Act Play, Dark Road. It is a play about the choices two sisters make that ultimately tear them apart. Set with the background of Nazi Germany, we experience the human struggle to maintain our humanity. 

You are invited to join us on Tuesday (Oct 22) and Thursday (Oct 24) at the Mount Pleasant High School Auditorium at 7:00 pm. Admission is $2 for students and $5 for adults. For more information, you can contact the director, Dr. Edward Lee, at Mount Pleasant High School at (903) 575-2020.