ETB Advertising Banner Header Terrie 1
Sandlin Header 2022
Better View Tree Trimming Header Ad
Cypress Basin Hospice 2023 Header
ETB Advertising Banner Header Terrie 2

Mt Pleasant ISD – News


MPHS Students Attend NET-Ole Symposium

Mount Pleasant High School students studying French and Spanish attended the NET-Ole Symposium at Texas A&M University-Commerce and brought home awards in a variety of categories.

The MPHS French Department earned the Overall Excellence trophy at the competition. Awarded a $500 scholarship was Maritza Zambrano. They will double it if she chooses to attend Texas A&M University-Commerce. Jose Martinez was awarded a $250 scholarship, doubled if he decides to attend Texas A&M University-Commerce.

Other awards were as follows:
Lucy Benalonzo: 3rd in Memorized Prose, 3rd in Sight Reading and Good Reading Comprehension
April Cisneros: 2nd in Memorized Prose and 2nd in Food
Natali Delgado: 2nd in Spelling
Nia Jackson: 3rd in Spelling, 3rd in Verbal Fluency and Excellent Reading Comprehension
Jose Martinez; 2nd in Vocals and 3rd in Memorized Poetry
Maritza Moya: Good Reading Comprehension
Uriel Rodriguez: 1st in Food, 2nd in Sight Reading and 2nd in Memorized Poetry
Maritza Zambrano: 1st in Sight Reading, 1st in Vocal and 2nd in Verbal Fluency
The MPHS Spanish Department brought home awards as well. Víctor Díaz earned 1st place in Bilingual A Sight Reading, 1st place in Bilingual B Memorized Poetry, and 2nd place in Bilingual B Spelling. Angel Nava won the 2nd place in Entrée for Enchiladas Rojas, and 3rd place in Bilingual/Heritage A Essay. John Rodríguez earned 1st place in Bilingual B Sight Reading and 3rd place in Bilingual B Verbal Fluency.
The Spanish Department’s Instructional Video, “The Recipe for an Effective Leader,” earned 1st in Bilingual A.

Photos: 1, 2, 3 and 4, are Spanish Students at NET-Ole

Scholarship Winners: Jose Martinez and Maritza Zambrano

French Net-Ole Participants

French Excellence Award


Sixth Six weeks “A” Honor Roll

Fifth Grade: Natalia Aspeitia, Katherine Ball, Sarah Baxter, Samuel Chappell, Emma Compton, Diya Desai, John Gallegos, Patricia Gonzalez, Stephanie Guerrero, Addison Heeren, Skyler Hopkins, William Johnson Jazlynn Juarez, Kinley Lowry, Tanner Marshall, Daniel Martinez Salazar, James Means, Alivia Newman, Dollian Phan, Alayza Police, Carlos Reyes, Christian Sanchez, Katelyn Tejeda, Hayden Tennison, Katherine Thompson, Luke Thurman.

Sixth Grade: Hannah Anderson, Miguel Colon Jr., Kaylee Connally, Ella Cross, Brianne Davis, Clinton DeBord, Kennady Ebarb, Yahir Garcia, Ana Garrett, Chantal Gonzalez, Sophie Greco, Angelina Hernandez, Stephanie Hernandez, Heissel Jaimes, Jillian Jetton, Mia Loving, Jocelyn Marroquin, Jenna Mars, Cesar Martinez Rosales, Yalit Mata, Eunice Mendoza Garcia, Evelyn Monreal, Andrew Murray, James Muskrat, Daniel Najera, McKinsee Oviedo, Said Ramirez, Kiara Rundles, Alexander Sandate, Jakera Sanders, Jasmine Sanders, Allie Sloan, Makayla Spigner, Diana Vargas, Athziry Villalva, Harrison Wall, Jordan West, Shpat Zeqaj.



Two MPHS Students Qualify for National Debate Tournament

Two Mount Pleasant High School students have qualified for the National Speech and Debate Tournament to be held in Fort Lauderdale, Florida this summer.

Junior Tripp Hinton, the son of Carl and Amy Hinton, qualified for the Tournament in Program of Oral Interpretation.
Freshman Ryan Sharp, the son of Robin and Janet Sharp, qualified in Humorous Interpretation. He is the only freshman to be eligible for this year’s tournament. Unfortunately, he will be unable to attend.

“Ryan and Tripp are only the third and fourth students in the history of Mount Pleasant High School to qualify for the National Tournament,” said Dr. Judi Saxton, MPISD’s Director of Communication. “We are incredibly proud of them and congratulate them on this achievement. We also congratulate their coach Cody Morris. We wish Tripp well at the Tournament and know he will be a great representative of the Mt. Pleasant community.”
Jaime Adams and Nathon Segovia represented MPHS at last year’s National Tournament.

The tournament is June 17-23, 2018 in Ft. Lauderdale, Florida.