ETB Advertising Banner Header Terrie 2
Cypress Basin Hospice 2023 Header
ETB Advertising Banner Header Terrie 1
Erin Conrad – Edward Jones Header
Momentum Can-Am In Stock Header
Hess Lawn Mower Header

North Lamar High School UIL Advances Students To Regional

The North Lamar High School UIL team has qualified several students for the regional UIL at Texas A&M Commerce after capturing first-place teams in Literary Criticism and Speech and Debate.

The teams competed at the District 15-4A UIL Meet on Wednesday, March 23, for Academics, and Friday, April 1, for Speech and Debate. The top three places in each event will move to the Regional contest; the fourth place serves as an alternate. In academic affairs, the entire first-place team advances to Regional.

North Lamar students placed in the district include Mila Frazier, fourth place in mathematics. Hunter Steelman, first place in current events, Tyler Travis, first place in informative speaking, Robert Collins, third place in informative speaking, Hannah Miner fourth place in informative speaking, Robert Collins fourth place in Lincoln-Douglas debate, Elizabeth Terry first place in literary criticism, Elonia Allmon third place in literary criticism, Phoebe Michael sixth place in literary criticism, Jaden Brown second place in persuasive speaking, Layla Shafiq fourth place in persuasive speaking, Jaden Brown first place in poetry interpretation, Kylie Crawford fifth place in poetry interpretation, Tyler Travis sixth place in poetry interpretation, Hannah Miner fifth place in prose interpretation, Jaden Brown fifth place in social studies, and Elizabeth Terry second in spelling and vocabulary.

The literary criticism team and the speech and debate team took the district championship. The accounting team placed second, and the current events team placed second. Dr. Linda Winfrey coaches Literary criticism, while Kristi Hodgkiss is speech and debate, spelling is Sandra Patterson, Dennis Hodgkiss coaches social studies, Amy Norwood has math, and coaching current events is Stephen Jones. In addition, Dennis Hodgkiss is the high school UIL Coordinator.

Pictured are front row Hannah Miner, Kaeley Chivers and Robert Collins. Back row Jaden Brown, Tyler Travis, Layla Shafiq and Kylie Crawford.
Pictured are front row left to right Phoebe Michael and Elizabeth Terry. Back row Elonia Allmon, Dr. Linda Winfrey and Emilee Wooten.