" /> Paris Teacher Of The Year Finalist – EastTexasRadio.com
cypress basin hospice
Titus Regional Orthopedic Sports Medicine Header
Hess Lawn Mower Header
Sandlin – Find New Roads – It’s All About You Aug 2017
Momentum Polaris Get Outside Now
Morrell banner

Paris Teacher Of The Year Finalist

Justiss Elementary School Principal Renee Elmore and Superintendent Paul Jones congratulate Amy Hooten on being named Texas Teacher of the Year finalist.

A Paris ISD teacher is among six finalists for 2018 Texas Teacher of the Year, the Texas Association of School Administrators (TASA) announced today. TASA chose Amy Hooten from 40 regional teachers of the year. She teaches second grade at Thomas S. Justiss Elementary School. Three elementary school teachers and three secondary school teachers were named finalists.

“It is important for teachers to first build relationships with their students and families,” said Hooten, who has taught at Justiss for her entire 23-year career.
“Only then can we provide the experiences, vocabulary enrichment, language and academic skills students need to rise up and successfully participate in other types of society members while still valuing their own. It is essential that students be taught how to make goals, make plans to achieve their goals, and broaden their world outside their immediate vicinity and situation.”

Finalists, in addition to Hooten, include:
Andrea Lucas, Lamar Elementary School, San Antonio ISD
Marissa Torres, Blue Haze Elementary School, White Settlement ISD
Tara Bordeaux, Lanier High School, Austin ISD
Andrea Garza, United South High School, United ISD
Gary Strickland, Coleman High School, Coleman ISD

Johnny L. Veselka, executive director of TASA, said the educators “represent the thousands of devoted educators across our state who inspire students to excel both in and beyond the classroom.”

The six finalists will be invited to Austin in September for interviews before a panel of judges composed of representatives of educational leadership associations, community and business leaders, a member of the State Board for Educator Certification, a member of the State Board of Education, and prior Texas Teachers of the Year.

The panel will select two state-level winners—Elementary Teacher of the Year and Secondary Teacher of the Year—and designate one to represent Texas in the National Teacher of the Year program. The awards ceremony Sep. 15 will announce the winners at the Bullock Texas State History Museum in Austin, where the 40 Regional Teachers of the Year will also be recognized.