ETB Advertising Banner Header Terrie 2
Hess Furniture Appliances Banner Header Duplicate
Sandlin Header 2022
Better View Tree Trimming Header Ad
Denny’s Paris Header
ETB Advertising Banner Header Terrie 1
Cypress Basin Hospice 2023 Header


James Thrower is 2017 inductee to Lone Star Conference Hall of Honor

RICHARDSON – The 2017 inductee to the Lone Star Conference Hall of Honor is former Texas A&M University-Commerce three-sport standout James Thrower, league officials announced on Wednesday.

Thrower is the sole inductee to the 2017 class of the LSC Hall of Honor, which recognizes outstanding individuals who have brought pride and honor to the conference through their contributions as an athlete or who have demonstrated a long-term commitment to the betterment of the conference as a coach or administrator.

Thrower, who is the 12th Lion to be enshrined, was chosen by a panel of athletic administrators throughout the league.

“For the Lone Star Conference and our athletics administrators to recognize James Thrower for this honor is a profound statement about him as a person as a pioneer in athletics during his time at East Texas State. Also as a role model for all LSC student-athletes to follow as they prepare for the next chapter of life,” said Texas A&M University-Commerce President Dr. Ray M. Keck.

“James Thrower had represented ‘Best in Class’ long before it was our athletics mission at Texas A&M University-Commerce, and he is truly a man of honor,” A&M-Commerce Director of Athletics Tim McMurray said. “To that end, I commend our Lone Star Conference colleagues for selecting him for this deserving honor. It also sends a strong message to our current student-athletes about where dedication, commitment, and hard work can take you.”

“I’m excited to announce the addition of James Thrower to the Lone Star Conference Hall of Honor. His tremendous success as a student-athlete, in the NFL, and in his professional career has brought great pride to the LSC. He is most deserving of this honor,” said LSC Commissioner Jay Poerner.

Thrower, class of 1970, was a three-sport athlete at East Texas State University, where he participated in the Lions’ football, basketball, and track and field teams, and majored in English and physical education.

The Camden, Ark., native came to ETSU on a basketball scholarship, but it was on the football field that he truly excelled. As a three-year starter on the football team, he intercepted 12 passes for 135 yards. He also earned a varsity letter in basketball and two in track and field as a member of the 440-yard relay team and the high jump.

Following his playing days at ETSU, Thrower went on to a six-year career in the NFL. He spent three seasons as a defensive back with the Philadelphia Eagles, and an additional three seasons as a defensive back for the Detroit Lions.

After a knee injury in 1975, Thrower transitioned into corporate America serving as a loan executive and as an executive assistant to the board chairman of the NAACP. Thrower formerly served on the City of Detroit Board of Water Commissioners and is the president and CEO of Jamjomar, Inc. He and his wife, Marla, are both owner/operators of many McDonald’s franchises – Marla in the Detroit metropolitan area and James in the New Orleans area.

The Throwers are very active in other corporate and community groups including the McDonald’s Operators National Advertising Committee, National Black McDonald’s Association, Ronald McDonald Children’s Charities, National Football League Alumni Players Association, National Association for the Advancement of Colored People Golden Heritage, and the Omega Psi Phi Fraternity. They are members of Oak Grove African Methodist Episcopal (AME) Church and have four children, James II, Jamar, Joni, and Marissa. Each of the Thrower children is also McDonald’s owners/operators, totaling 29 franchises owned and operated by the family.

Thrower and his wife Marla are proud to have provided the leadership gift to the Thrower Student-Athlete Success Center, which is the premier academic and success support center for student-athletes in all of Division II. He was honored as a Distinguished Alumnus at A&M-Commerce in 2012 and inducted into the Lion Athletics Hall of Fame in 2010.


Inductee Sport Induction Year
Jesse Hawthorne Administrator 1996
Delmer Brown Coach/Trainer 2000
Wade Wilson Football 2003
Ernest Hawkins Coach 2004
Lewis Ingraham “L.I.” Smith Administrator 2005
Sam McCord Football 2006
Dr. Bill Crabtree Coach 2007
Arthur James Football 2008
Harvey Martin Football 2010
Dwight White Football 2011
Autry Beamon Football 2012
James Thrower Football, Basketball, Track & Field 2017