Sandlin Header 2022
Better View Tree Trimming Header Ad
Cypress Basin Hospice 2023 Header
ETB Advertising Banner Header Terrie 2
ETB Advertising Banner Header Terrie 1

TAMUC – Sports



Luis Perez named Lone Star Conference Male Athlete of the Year.

RICHARDSON – Luis Perez, who led the Texas A&M University-Commerce football team to the 2017 NCAA Division II National Championship, has been named the Lone Star Conference Male Athlete of the Year, as announced by the league office Tuesday.

Perez is the first Lion student-athlete ever to win the prestigious Athlete of the Year award, which the LSC’s Player of the Year winners across all sports throughout the year selected. They initiated the award in 1999.

“Luis Perez is the ultimate student-athlete who we were fortunate to have here at A&M-Commerce,” said A&M-Commerce head football coach Colby Carthel. “He achieved at the highest level possible as a player, scholar, and citizen. This award is a fitting end to such an incredible career!”

Perez was the winner of the 2017 Harlon Hill Trophy, awarded the top Division II college football player in the nation. He completed 421-of-596 passes for 5,001 yards, 46 touchdowns, and 11 interceptions. The 5,001 yards are the fourth-most by a quarterback in a single Division II season. He also set Division II Championship records for pass completions (144), pass attempts (211) and passing yards (1,570). He became the first quarterback to pass for over 300 yards in the National Championship game since 2005 and tied a Lone Star Conference record for the most 200-yard passing games in a season with 14. He became the first Harlon Hill Trophy winner to also win a Division II National Championship since 2002 and only the sixth overall in the 32-year history of Division II’s premier football award.

For his career, Perez completed 665-of-985 passes for 8,327 yards, 78 touchdowns, and 16 interceptions. He was the starting quarterback for 28 games, leading the Lions to a 25-3 record, two NCAA Division II playoff appearances, and a Lone Star Conference championship. He completed his collegiate career leading the Lions on a 10-game winning streak, which is the longest active winning streak in Division II.

He was named a First Team All-American by, the Division II Conference Commissioners Association, the Associated Press, and Don Hansen’s Football Gazette, and a Second Team All-American by the American Football Coaches Association. He was also named the Ron Lenz Offensive Player of the Year by the D2CCA, Offensive Player of the Year, and Don Hansen’s Football Gazette Offensive Player of the Year. He won the J.W. Rollins Award as the Lone Star Conference’s Offensive Player of the Year and is a two-time First Team All-Lone Star Conference selection at quarterback.

Perez is currently on the Los Angeles Rams’ roster. He signed with the Rams as an undrafted free agent in May.


Year Male Winner
2018 Luis Perez, A&M-Commerce, Sr., Football
2017 Daeshon Francis, UT Permian Basin, Jr., Men’s Basketball
Marshall Kasowski, West Texas A&M, Jr., Baseball
2016 Marqui Christian, Midwestern State, Sr., Football
2015 Steve Naemark, Angelo State, Jr., Baseball
2014 Dustin Vaughan, West Texas A&M, Sr., Football
2013 Alex Carpenter, Abilene Christian, Sr., Golf
2012 Nick Jones, Abilene Christian, Sr., Track & Field
2011 Chase Larsson, Cameron, Jr., Baseball
2010 Cyril Bouniol, Abilene Christian, Jr., Golf
2009 Bernard Scott, Abilene Christian, Sr., Football
2008 Sam Belt, Central Oklahoma, Sr., Basketball
2007 Nicodemus Naimadu, Abilene Christian, Sr., CC/Track & Field
2006 Danieal Manning, Abilene Christian, Football
2005 Drew Beard, Southeastern Okla., Football
2004 Cole Province, Central Oklahoma, Wrestling
2003 Olan Coleman, Tarleton State, Football/Track & Field
2002 Steve Kelly, Tarleton State, Football
2001 Roberto Garza, Texas A&M-Kingsville, Football/Track & Field
2000 Roberto Garza, Texas A&M-Kingsville, Football/Track & Field
1999 Eddie Robinson, Central Oklahoma, Basketball



Rashard Clark to represent A&M-Commerce at USATF Outdoor Championships.

DES MOINES, Iowa – Texas A&M University-Commerce rising senior Rashard Clark will compete in the U.S.A. Track & Field Outdoor Championships at Drake University on June 21-24. The USATF confirmed meet entries Monday.

Clark will compete in the 400-meter dash with a qualifying time of 45.54 seconds, which he set at the 2018 Lone Star Conference Outdoor Track & Field Championships in San Angelo.

The first round of competition takes place at 5:05 p.m. Thursday, with the semifinals at 6:20 p.m. Friday, and the finals at 4:30 p.m. Saturday. LIVE RESULTS

Clark was the NCAA Division II national runner-up in the 400-meter dash outdoors at 45.70 seconds. He was the runner-up to Ashland’s Myles Pringle (45.35 seconds), who will also compete at the USATF Outdoor Championships in the 400-meter dash.

Clark is one of two Division II student-athletes who will compete at this year’s USATF Outdoor Championships before completing his collegiate eligibility – with Pringle as the other. Clark is the school record holder in the 400-meter dash both outdoors and indoors and ran the anchor leg in the school record 4×400 meter relay both outdoors and indoors.

Based on available records, Clark is A&M-Commerce’s first representative at the USATF Outdoor Championships before completing their collegiate eligibility. The last Lone Star Conference representative at the USATF Outdoor Championships was Texas A&M-Kingsville high jumper Jeron Robinson, who jumped at the 2016 Olympic Trials, though he competed unattached after completing his collegiate eligibility.