" /> TAMUC- Sports – EastTexasRadio.com
Bobcat of North Texas Header
Cypress Basin Hospice Radney Foster June 2021
Sandlin – Find New Roads – It’s All About You Aug 2017
Erin Conrad – Edward Jones Header
Titus Regional Orthopedic Sports Medicine Header
Momentum Polaris Get Outside Now
Hess Lawn Mower Header

TAMUC- Sports


Kristov Martinez named First Team AFCA All-American.

WACO – Texas A&M University-Commerce kicker Kristov Martinez has been named a first-team All-American by the American Football Coaches’ Association, as announced Wednesday.

The senior kicker finished his Lion career as NCAA Division II’s all-time leading kick scorer with 449 points. This places fourth in scoring among all college players in the state of Texas. The LSC’s all-time leading scorer earns All-American honors for the second time, elevating to the first team for the first time. He was a Don Hansen’s third team All-American in 2017.

He was 21-of-26 on field goals with a career-long of 55 yards in the regional semifinal at Tarleton. He also made all 48 PAT attempts on the season and ended his career with a streak of 103 PATs made in a row. He was also fantastic in the kickoff phase, as the Lions finished the season ranked No. 1 nationally in kickoff coverage.

Martinez’ selection to the AFCA All-American team extends A&M-Commerce’s streak of six straight years with an AFCA All-American. This is the longest active streak in the nation.

All-time, the Lions rank second in Division II with 23 AFCA All-American selections.

2018 AFCA Division II Coaches’ All-America – First Team

Pos Name Ht. Wt. Cl. School
QB Jayru Campbell 6-5 215 Jr. Ferris St. (Mich.)
RB Jaleel McLaughlin 5-9 173 Fr. Notre Dame (Ohio)
RB Gabriel Watson 6-1 221 Jr. Sioux Falls (S.D.)
WR Craig Rucker 5-7 165 Jr. Mars Hill (N.C.)
WR Trey Brock 6-3 218 Sr. Hillsdale (Mich.)
TE Erik Henneman 6-3 228 Jr. Lindenwood (Mo.)
OL Derrick Puni 6-6 320 R-Sr. Central Missouri
OL Bryce Bray 6-0 260 Sr. Harding (Ark.)
OL James Moore 6-5 300 Sr. Central Washington
OL Travis Romsa 6-4 300 R-Sr. Chadron St. (Neb.)
OL Donald Boone 6-5 310 Jr. Chowan (N.C.)
Pos Name Ht. Wt. Cl. School
DL Markus Jones 6-3 260 Sr. Angelo St. (Texas)
DL Austen Eskew 6-4 248 Sr. Northwest Missouri St.
DL Michael Wristen 6-4 245 Sr. Colorado St.-Pueblo
DL Chris Garrett 6-4 230 So. Concordia-St. Paul (Minn.)
LB J.T. Hassell 6-0 199 Sr. Florida Tech
LB Austin Stephens 5-11 210 Jr. Miles (Ala.)
LB Tyler Morrissey 6-3 256 R-Sr. West Chester (Pa.)
DB Lamont McPhatter II 5-11 190 Jr. California (Pa.)
DB Joshua Simmons 6-3 205 Gr. Limestone (S.C.)
DB Gunner Olszewski 5-10 180 Sr. Bemidji St. (Minn.)
DB Brian Williams 6-1 190 R-Sr. Davenport (Mich.)
Pos Name Ht. Wt. Cl. School
PK Kristov Martinez 5-6 135 Sr. A&M-COMMERCE
P Josh Carlson 6-0 165 Fr. Dixie St. (Utah)
AP Lyrics Klugh 5-10 170 Sr. Fairmont St. (W.Va.)

2018 AFCA Division II Coaches’ All-America – Second Team

Pos Name Ht. Wt. Cl. School
QB Layton Rabb 6-5 225 Sr. MSU Texas
RB Marcus Jones 5-11 225 Sr. Gannon (Pa.)
RB Devontae Jackson 5-7 176 Sr. West Georgia
WR Chad Hovasse 6-1 215 R-Sr. Adams St. (Colo.)
WR Shane Zylstra 6-5 220 Jr. Minnesota St.
TE Jalen Jackson 6-0 215 So. Lock Haven (Pa.)
OL Craig McCorkle 6-5 290 Jr. California (Pa.)
OL Devon Johnson 6-7 310 Sr. Ferris St. (Mich.)
OL Steve Gaviglia 6-3 285 R-Sr. Slippery Rock (Pa.)
OL Matt Juneau 6-5 290 Sr. Minnesota-Duluth
OL Justin Gooseberry 6-4 250 Sr. Ouachita Baptist (Ark.)
Pos Name Ht. Wt. Cl. School
DL Davondrick Lison 6-2 235 R-Sr. Southern Arkansas
DL T.J. Winslow 6-4 250 Sr. Harding (Ark.)
DL Cardell Rawlings 6-2 240 R-Sr. Wingate (N.C.)
DL James Prater Jr. 6-0 244 Sr. Ashland (Ohio)
LB Dominic Cizauskas 6-2 260 Jr. Glenville St. (W.Va.)
LB Aaron Berry 6-2 225 Sr. Azusa Pacific (Calif.)
LB Cody Leonard 6-1 225 Sr. Quincy (Ill.)
DB Traviontae Brown 6-0 170 Jr. Benedict (S.C.)
DB Corey Ballentine 6-0 204 Sr. Washburn (Kan.)
DB O’Shay Harris 6-1 190 Jr. Central Oklahoma
DB Jarey Elder 5-11 170 Jr. West Chester (Pa.)
Pos Name Ht. Wt. Cl. School
PK Cole Antley 6-0 190 Sr. Ouachita Baptist (Ark.)
P Isaac Parks 6-0 210 R-So. North Carolina-Pembroke
AP Deonte Harris 5-6 170 Sr. Assumption (Mass.)

Team Background: The five teams now chosen for each AFCA division evolved from a single 11-player squad in 1945. From 1945 until 1967, only one team was chosen. From 1967 through 1971, two teams – University Division and College Division – were selected. In 1972, the College Division was split into College I and College II. In 1979, the University Division was split into two teams — FBS and FCS. In 1996, the College I and College II teams were renamed Division II and Division III, respectively. In 2006, the AFCA started selecting an NAIA-only team.
From 1965-81, a 22-player (11 offensive, 11 defensives) team was chosen. In 1982, a punter and placekicker were added to the team. In 1997, a return specialist was added, giving us the current 25-player team. The return specialist position was replaced by an all-purpose player in 2006. In 2016, the AFCA added a second-team All-America.

Selection Process: The AFCA’s Division II All-America Selection Committee is made up of three head coaches from each of the AFCA’s seven districts, one of whom serves as a district chairman, along with another head coach who serves as the chairman of the selection committee. The coaches in each district are responsible for ranking the top players in their respective districts prior to a conference call between the district chairmen and the committee chairman on which the teams are chosen.