Mark Patrick Header 2020
Choctaw County EMS Star Life Conference Header
Better View Tree Trimming Header Ad
Sandlin Header 2022
Cypress Basin Hospice 2023 Header
ETB Advertising Banner Header Terrie 2
Hess Bad Boy Header Promo 2024
ETB Advertising Banner Header Terrie 1

TAMUC – Sports

Rotich named USTFCCCA National Athlete of the Week.

NEW ORLEANS – Nicodemus Rotich etched his name into the history book once again Tuesday, earning National Cross Country Athlete of the Week honors from the U.S. Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA).

Eldoret, Kenya, became the first Lion to win an individual Lone Star Conference cross country title since 1986 and fourth overall in program history on Saturday. Rotich won the 8-kilometer race in 24:51.0 to finish 13.51 seconds ahead of West Texas A&M’s Innocent Murwanashyaka.

His win at the LSC Championships gives Rotich a clean sweep of the 2020 season, winning all four meets he has competed in this season. He was named LSC Freshman of the Year and First Team All-LSC earlier Tuesday.

It is the first time in award history an athlete from A&M-Commerce has been named National Athlete of the Week during the cross country season.

Rotich and Townsend earn special honors from Lone Star Conference.

RICHARDSON – Texas A&M University-Commerce’s Nicodemus Rotich and Tanner Townsend earned recognition from the Lone Star Conference on Tuesday, as the league announced all-conference, academic all-conference, and special awards in men’s cross country. 

Rotich (Eldoret, Kenya) was named the LSC Freshman of the Year and First Team All-Lone Star Conference after winning the conference championship by almost 14 seconds with a 24:51.0 8-kilometer course. Rotich won the individual title in all four races the Lions ran this year, and both LSC Runner and Freshman of the Week in every week they gave awards this year. 

Rotich is the Lions’ fourth all-time LSC Champion, second LSC Freshman of the Year, and 27th First Team All-LSC honoree. The Lions last had a First Team All-LSC honoree in 2016. 

Townsend (Royse City) earned Academic All-Conference in his first season eligible. The Kinesiology and Sports Studies major helped push the Lions to a fifth-place finish in the LSC Championships team. He is the first Lion to earn Academic All-Conference since 2017. 

They give the all-conference distinction to runners who finish among the top 15 individually at the conference meet. They present additional awards for Newcomer, Freshman, and Coach of the Year on both the men’s and women’s sides. They give the Coach of the Year award to one head coach for each gender based on a vote of the league’s cross country head coaches. 

For student-athletes to be eligible for the All-Academic team, they must maintain a 3.30 cumulative grade point average. The league’s sports information directors vote on the All-Academic teams.



Place Runner Team Year Hometown
1 Nicodemus Rotich A&M-Commerce Fr. Eldoret, Kenya
2 Innocent Murwanashyaka West Texas A&M Jr. St. Paul, Minn.
3 Butare Rugenerwa West Texas A&M Jr. Amarillo, Texas
4 Arnaud Taki West Texas A&M Sr. Lyon, France
5 Colten Brown Oklahoma Christian So. Boise City, Okla.
6 Daniel Beam Western New Mexico So. Rio Rancho, N.M.
7 Colton Meyers Oklahoma Christian Sr. Allen, Texas
8 Michael Anzures Western New Mexico Sr. Seboyeta, N.M.
9 Harry Louradour West Texas A&M Fr. Le Vigen, France
10 Eduardo Gutierrez Cameron Sr. Hondo, Texas
11 Nicholas Martinez Texas A&M International Jr. Laredo, Texas
12 Angel Contreras UT Tyler Fr. El Paso, Texas
13 Briggs Wittlake West Texas A&M Sr. Amarillo, Texas
14 Noah Metzger DBU Sr. McKinney, Texas
15 Gideon Kipon Texas A&M International Fr. Eldama Ravine, Kenya

Men’s Team Champion: West Texas A&M
Men’s Newcomer of the Year: Innocent Murwanashyaka, West Texas A&M
Men’s Freshman of the Year: Nicodemus Rotich, A&M-Commerce
Men’s Coach of the Year
: Jake Krolick, West Texas A&M


Place Runner Team Year Hometown
1 Florance Uwajeneza West Texas A&M Jr. St. Paul, Minn.
2 Madison Brown DBU So. Round Rock, Texas
3 Marissa Insinna DBU Jr. McKinney, Texas
4 Abril Escamilla Texas A&M International Sr. Laredo, Texas
5 Leslie Filorio DBU Jr. Abilene, Texas
6 Emily Mackel DBU So. Waxahachie, Texas
7 Kenya Bailey Oklahoma Christian Jr. Ponca City, Okla.
8 Amerhyst Woolf Midwestern State Sr. Las Cruces, N.M.
9 Jenna Thorman DBU Sr. Plano, Texas
10 Faith Kiprotich Texas A&M International So. Kapkoi, Kenya
11 Analynne Klotz DBU Jr. Cadillac, Mich.
12 Britney Lovato Western New Mexico Jr. Rio Rancho, N.M.
13 Kaitlyn Stark St. Edward’s Sr. Rockwall, Texas
14 Karla Resendez Texas A&M International Sr. Laredo, Texas
15 Martha Brown DBU Jr. Plano, Texas

Women’s Team Champion: DBU
Women’s Newcomer of the Year: Florance Uwajeneza, West Texas A&M
Women’s Freshman of the Year: Ellie Hovre, St. Edward’s
Women’s Coach of the Year: Jacob Phillips, DBU


Runner Team Year Major Hometown
Fernando Villalon Lubbock Christian So. Exercise Science Antequera, Spain
Tanner Townsend A&M-Commerce So. Kinesiology and Sports Studies Royse City, Texas
Zach Tucker UT Tyler Sr. Chemistry and Biochemistry Perrin, Texas
Daniel Beam Western New Mexico So. History Rio Rancho, N.M.
Michael Anzures Western New Mexico Sr. Kinesiology Seboyeta, N.M.

Academic Runner of the Year: Zach Tucker, UT Tyler


Runner Team Year Major Hometown
Leslie Filorio DBU Jr. Political Science Abilene, Texas
Madison Brown DBU So. Biology Round Rock, Texas
Rylee Cristan DBU Jr. Education Keller, Texas
Maddie Hooker West Texas A&M So. Plant, Soil, and Environmental Science Yantis, Texas
Brenda Prieto Western New Mexico So. Cell and Molecular Biology Las Cruces, N.M.

Academic Runner of the Year: Leslie Filorio, DBU