Better View Tree Trimming Header Ad
Hess Furniture Appliances Banner Header Duplicate
Cypress Basin Hospice 2023 Header
Sandlin Header 2022
ETB Advertising Banner Header Terrie 1
ETB Advertising Banner Header Terrie 2
Denny’s Paris Header

The Honorable L. D. Williamson Receives Prestigious 2021 Wilbur R. Dunk Leadership Award

Left to Right: Ginny Lewis Ford, The Honorable L.D. Williamson, and Chris Brown

The Honorable L.D. Williamson was awarded the prestigious 2021 Wilbur R. Dunk Leadership Award by Ms. Ginny Lewis Ford, Executive Director of the Texas Association of Regional Councils (TARC). Judge L.D. Williamson is the Red River County Judge and President of the Ark-Tex Council of Governments (ATCOG) Board of Directors.

TARC selects one elected official in Texas each year to receive the Wilbur R. Dunk Regional Leadership Award. TARC presents the award to an elected official who has shown extraordinary dedication to the purposes and possibilities for regional cooperation through councils of government.

They read the nomination letter aloud during the ATCOG Board of Directors meeting on Thursday, December 9, 2021, and the award presentation to Judge Williamson.

The letter stated, “Judge L.D. Williamson has served the Northeast Texas area for over 40 years. Serving as Mayor of Clarksville for six years and then as Red River County Judge for over fourteen years, he remained involved with the Ark-Tex Council of Governments serving in several capacities including Board President for twelve years cumulatively.”

The letter further stated, “His service as ATCOG Executive Director helped to strengthen and solidify the programs ATCOG serves along with growing several regional initiatives. Most of his work has been quiet, but the outcomes ring loud across the ATCOG region and in the work TARC has accomplished across the entire state.”

“(Judge Williamson) is a great mentor and friend and truly deserves the recognition of this outstanding Association. He has made such a huge impact within our region, so it was great to see him recognized for his dedication and achievements in the presence of his colleagues right here in Northeast Texas,” said Chris Brown, current ATCOG Executive Director.”