Sandlin Header 2022
Cypress Basin Hospice 2023 Header
Better View Tree Trimming Header Ad
ETB Advertising Banner Header Terrie 1
ETB Advertising Banner Header Terrie 2

MPISD – News

Photo L to R: Faith Logan, Nicholas Segovia, Patricia Roque, Isabella Greco, Reid Pinckard, and Taryn Thurman 

Contact: Kelly Cowan

MPHS National Honor Society selects officers

The Mount Pleasant High School chapter of the National Honor Society (NHS) has selected its officers for the 2020-2021 school year. Leading NHS are President Reid Pinckard, Vice-President Taryn Thurman, Secretary Isabella Greco, Treasurer Faith Logan, Parliamentarian Nicholas Segovia, and Historian Patricia Roque.

According to MPHS NHS Advisor, David Clark, the NHS leadership team, drives the projects’ development for the year. “This year is different, obviously,” said Clark. “They have decided to look for more virtual, online community involvement opportunities. Two projects we will continue from previous years will be our fall food drive for needy students and their families as well as our spring pet supply drive to support our local humane society.” The MPHS National Honor Society plans to induct its new members on November 2 if the local health situation allows it.


Photo: L to R—Region 8 CTE Consultant, Kerri Bowles, with Area 3 CTAT Teacher of the Year from MPHS, John Whitten 

Contact: Kelly Cowan

MPHS Journalism teacher named CTAT Area 3 Teacher of the Year

Mount Pleasant High School Journalism teacher John Whitten has been named the Area 3 Career and Technical Association of Texas (CTAT) Teacher of the Year. This award recognizes the most satisfying career and technical teachers at the middle and secondary school level who have demonstrated innovation in the classroom, commitment to their students, and dedication to the improvement of Career and Technical Education (CTE) in their institutions and communities.

Whitten has taught at MPHS for the past six years. During that time, he has taught multiple courses such as Commercial Photography, Newspaper, Yearbook, Principles of Arts, Audio/Video Technology, and Digital Interactive Media. His students have produced the MPHS yearbook, The Arrowhead, the campus newspaper, Tiger Talk, and the campus video announcements, Tiger Network Television. 

Before coming to MPHS, Whitten taught at Pittsburg ISD for seven years. Before becoming a teacher, he worked in the newspaper industry for seventeen years, twelve as a sports editor, and five as managing editor for the Mount Pleasant Daily Tribune. He holds a bachelor’s degree from the University of North Texas with a major in Journalism and a minor in Political Science.

In addition to teaching, Whitten has also served as a Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA) advisor for six years. During the last three years, since he took over as lead advisor, MPHS has had 20 students advance to Nationals due to their hard work and desire to reach new heights. He has also sponsored the UIL journalism team and was fortunate enough to have a student become the first MPHS journalism student to advance to state and earn a UIL State medal last year.

“I was very humbled and honored to have been chosen CTAT Teacher of the Year for Area 3 from a strong pool of candidates,” said Whitten. “I am fortunate to work with a district that provides so much support for the CTE program. We have awesome leadership from CTE Director Karl Whitehurst, and I work with the greatest CTE department in Texas. The CTE program at MPHS is filled with dedicated educators and support personnel who impact students on a daily basis.”

Whitten continued, “Along with working with great educators, I get to come work every day and hopefully make a positive impact on the lives of students. Besides giving students the tools they need to succeed in my class, my goal is to develop positive relationships with my students and know that I care about them. I have been so blessed since joining MPHS. I can’t imagine working for any other district.”

The CTAT Area Teachers of the Year participated in an interview process with the awards committee where Whitten placed in the Top 5 out of about 15 nominees. Whitten received his award at a ceremony in Lindale on September 30.