Better View Tree Trimming Header Ad
Mark Patrick Header 2020
ETB Advertising Banner Header Terrie 1
ETB Advertising Banner Header Terrie 2
Sandlin Header 2022
Choctaw County EMS Star Life Conference Header
Hess Bad Boy Header Promo 2024
Cypress Basin Hospice 2023 Header

Sulphur Springs HS Wins District UIL Academic Meet

UIL Academic Team Updates (District UIL Academics Highlights 2024) 

April 5 & 10 District 15-4A Academic Meet 

The SSHS Wildcat UIL Academic Team competed on Friday, April 5, and Wednesday, April 10, at the District 15-4A Academic Meet. The team won the District 15-4A championship with 823 points, garnering 63 individual medals, five first-place teams, and three second-place teams. SSHS students also earned the titles of District Journalism and Speech Champions. Thirty-three students qualified for the region competition, and six alternated to the region. Here is a list of our 2024 medalists. Congratulations to these hard-working competitors and coaches, and thanks to the staff and administration of SSHS for their support.

Copy Editing (Madison Millsap & Gail Herman – Coaches) Jolene Reed – 1st PlaceR 

Abigail Bautista – 2nd PlaceR 

Payton Hooks – 3rd PlaceR

News Writing (Millsap & Herman – Coaches) 

Jolene Reed – 1st PlaceR 

Payton Hooks – 2nd PlaceR 

Dylan McKinney – 3rd PlaceR

Feature Writing (Millsap & Herman – Coaches) Jolene Reed – 1st PlaceR 

Payton Hooks – 2nd PlaceR 

Kolbie Moughon – 6th Place

Editorial Writing (Millsap & Herman – Coaches) Asia Chen – 1st PlaceR 

Anthony Small – 2nd PlaceR 

Jolene Reed – 3rd PlaceR

Headline Writing (Millsap & Herman – Coaches) Abigail Bautista – 1st PlaceR 

Betzy Chacon – 2nd PlaceR 

Jolene Reed – 3rd PlaceR

Journalism – 1st Place Team 

(Madison Millsap & Gail Herman – Coaches)

Ready Writing (Gail Herman – Coach) 

Anthony Small – 2nd PlaceR 

Alan Tellez – 3rd PlaceR 

Alexis Villarino – 4th PlaceA

Accounting (Jamie VanWinkle – Coach) 

Holden Moss – 1st PlaceR

Calculator Applications (Gerald Grafton – Coach) Asia Chen – 1st PlaceR 

Barrett Thesing – 3rd PlaceR 

Katlyn Noe – 5th Place 

Briana Macedo – 6th Place 

TEAM – 1st PlaceR(Chen, Thesing, Noe, Macedo)

Computer Applications (Jill Crump – Coach) 

Makieya Boren – 1st PlaceR

Current Issues & Events (Madison Millsap – Coach) James “Mac” McCoy – 1st PlaceR 

Crawford Johnson – 2nd PlaceR 

Abigail Bautista – 3rd PlaceR 

Kolbie Moughon – 4th PlaceA 

Craig Draper – 5th Place 

TEAM – 1st PlaceR(McCoy, Johnson, Bautista, Moughon)

Literary Criticism (Gail Herman – Coach) 

Alexis Villarino – 1st PlaceR 

Kami White – 2nd PlaceR 

Alan Tellez – 3rd PlaceR 

Betzy Chacon – 4th PlaceA 

Dylan McKinney – 6th Place 

TEAM – 1st PlaceR(Villarino, White, Tellez, Chacon)

Mathematics (Gerald Grafton – Coach) 

Asia Chen – 2nd PlaceR 

Anthony Small – 5th Place 

TEAM – 2nd PlaceA(Chen, Small, A. Villarino, K. White)

Number Sense (Gerald Grafton – Coach) 

Katlyn Noe – 4th PlaceA


Science (Kristen Shelton – Coach) 

Asia Chen – 4th PlaceA 

Jessie Li – 6th Place 

TEAM – 2nd PlaceA(Chen, Li, C. Murillo, R. Offutt)

Social Studies (Madison Millsap – Coach) 

Grayson Wall – 1st PlaceR 

Davin Ly – 2nd PlaceR 

Julia Garcia-Ricker – 3rd PlaceR 

Crawford Johnson – 4th PlaceA 

Conner Curtis – 5th Place 

Cameron Davis – 6th Place 

TEAM – 1st PlaceR(Wall, Ly, Garcia-Ricker, Johnson)

Spelling & Vocabulary (Gail Herman – Coach) Abigail Bautista – 1st PlaceR 

Kami White – 2nd PlaceR 

Kale Burgin – 3rd PlaceR 

Celeste Hernandez – 4th PlaceA 

Laney Bankston – 5th Place 

Camila Hidalgo – 6th Place 

TEAM – 1st PlaceR(Bautista, White, Burgin, Hernandez)

Speech – 1st Place 

(Coaches: Trevor King, Jamie VanWinkle, Lesha Woodard)

Prose (Lesha Woodard – Coach) 

Tally Brown – 1st PlaceR 

Aiden Woodard – 2nd PlaceR 

Aspen Mayhew – 3rd PlaceR

Poetry (Lesha Woodard – Coach) 

Emma Boatman – 1st PlaceR 

Addison Bradley – 2nd PlaceR 

Nathan Bilyeu – 3rd PlaceR

Informative (Trevor King – Coach) 

Carolina Murillo-Barcenas – 2nd PlaceR

Persuasive (Trevor King – Coach) 

Jordan VanWinkle – 1st PlaceR 

Reese Offutt – 2nd PlaceR

R – Regional Qualifier, A – Alternate for Region 

Previous Events Contributing to District Totals: 

CX Debate (Offutt-Murillo) 2nd Place Team (Advanced to State CX) 

ONE ACT PLAY District Champs (Advanced to Bi-district competition) 

Upcoming dates: 

April 26 – SSHS UIL @ Region 2 UIL Meet (TAMU – Commerce) 

May 13 – 15 – SSHS UIL @ State UIL Academic Meet (UT – Austin)