" /> NE Texas Election Highlights – EastTexasRadio.com
Hess Lawn Mower Header
Momentum Polaris Get Outside Now
cypress basin hospice
Morrell banner
Titus Regional Orthopedic Sports Medicine Header
Sandlin – Find New Roads – It’s All About You Aug 2017

NE Texas Election Highlights

Turnout was massive in Texas for Election Day, and in some areas, a record number of voters were recorded. Republicans in Texas took every state office. In the most closely watched race, Incumbent Republican Senator Ted Cruz defeated Democrat challenger Beto O’Rourke. In the Regional Races, Incumbent of the 4th  District U.S. Congressman John Ratcliff, 1st District Congressman Louie Gohmert and 5th District Congressman Lance Gooden all won re-election. Incumbent District 2 State Senator Bob Hall, Incumbent District 4 State Representative Dan Flynn and District 5 State Representative Cole Hefner all handily won re-election. They were all Republicans.

In  Northeast Texas local contested races, Republican challenger Brandon Bell defeated longtime Democrat incumbent Lamar County Judge Chuck Superville by a wide margin. In Place 5 seat on the PJC Board of Regents, Mark Buster defeated Douglas Shuler. In Fannin County, Savoy ISD voters approved a $4.25 million bond issue. The City of Leonard approved the sale of beer and wine. For the Sam Rayburn ISD board of trustees, the winners were Drew Ferris, J.D. Kissinger, and Chris Flippo.

In Titus County, Marcus D. Carlock was elected District Clerk, John Fitch was elected Commissioner for Pct 2, Jimmy Parker earned Commissioner of Pct 4 and Steve Agan was elected Justice of the Peace. Proposition “A” dealing with Titus County roads was approved. In Hopkins County, Tracey Orr Smith defeated Reiko Alexander for County Clerk. In Camp County, Steven Hudnall defeated Tim Royal and Write-in Candidate Rex Manly for Commissioner of Pct 2. Doug Reeder was elected Morris County Judge.

In Hopkins County School Board races, for Cumby ISD the winners were Kyle Petit and Jimmy Helferich. For Miller Grove ISD the winners were Brandon Darrow, Bret Garrett, and Ray Sparks. At North Hopkins ISD the winners were Nicole Vaughn and Bruce Allen Joslin.

Douglas Simmerman and Kristin Thompson were elected Aldermen for the Cumby City Council.