ETB Advertising Banner Header Terrie 1
ETB Advertising Banner Header Terrie 2
Erin Conrad – Edward Jones Header
Hess Lawn Mower Header
Cypress Basin Hospice 2023 Header
Momentum Can-Am In Stock Header

MPISD – News

FBLA Area 6 Workshop

Matthew Armstrong

Mount Pleasant High School recently hosted the Texas Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA) Area 6 Fall Leadership Conference.

Each year, a workshop is presented by the Area 6 State Vice President to introduce new members and welcome returning members back to another year of FBLA. Matthew Armstrong, a senior at Mount Pleasant High School, serves as the Area 6 State Vice President.

He along with the advisors and members of MPHS’ FBLA chapter welcomed eight area schools to the event. A total of 130 students attended the event. A drastic increase from prior years.

“We focused on bringing students together,” Armstrong said. “Every part of the event was designed to allow students from each school to network together.”

Those in attendance were taught how to achieve a growth mindset, overcome obstacles as a team and how to defy odds. Each student attended three breakout sessions and participated in an interactive and engaging workshop.

Texas FBLA prides itself on preparing students for the workforce, and this was an event that did just that.


Pictured are the 2018-19 HOSA Officers (L to R)
Back row: Alexus Sampson, Andrea Beles, Kayla Cuellar, Averie Ayers, Rocio Hernandez, Javier Martinez
Front row: Erica Salazar, Alvaro Figueroa, Blanca Antolin, Alyssa Reynolds

MPHS Celebrates HOSA Week

The Mount Pleasant High School Chapter of HOSA will celebrate “HOSA Week” from November 5-9 on the MPHS campus. HOSA is an international student organization recognized by the U.S. Department of Education and the Health Science Education (HSE) Division of the Association for Career and Technical Education. HOSA’s two-fold mission is to promote career opportunities in the healthcare industry and to enhance the delivery of quality health care to all people.

HOSA provides a unique program of leadership development, motivation, and recognition exclusively for secondary, postsecondary, adult, and collegiate students enrolled in health science education and biomedical science programs or have interests in pursuing careers in health professions.

On Monday, November 5, HOSA members will provide free blood pressure checks at lunch and will celebrate Teacher Appreciation Day. Tuesday, November 6 will be “Dress Like a Healthcare Professional” day. On Wednesday, November 7 HOSA members will participate in Random Acts of Kindness across campus and our community. Thursday, November 8 is “Cape Day,” a day to show support and celebrate a few of the toughest warriors at Children’s Hospital in Dallas. HOSA members will wear capes to represent every kid battling cancer, heart disease, trauma and more. And Friday, November 9 will be “Hot Chocolate with HOSA” day, with free hot chocolate available during lunch.


NTHS Officers Kayla Cuellar (Treasurer), Cessia Gonzalez (Vice-President), Aslin Barrientos (President), Averie Ayers (Secretary), and Matthew Armstrong (Officer at Large) and new members at the recent induction ceremony.

MPHS NTHS Inducts New Members

Forty-three Mount Pleasant High School students were inducted into the National Technical Honor Society (NTHS) at a candlelight ceremony on October 25.

To be a member of NTHS, a student must be enrolled in a Career and Technical Education (CTE) class, must maintain a cumulative GPA of 90, must be a member of a CTE organization (FBLA, HOSA, SkillsUSA, FFA, FCCLA, TPSA), must complete service hours and must maintain a clean discipline record. The 43 juniors and seniors join the 27 returning senior members.

New members for 2018-2019 are: Clara Alvarado, Katelyn Andrews, Madia Arredondo, Aaliyah Avellaneda, Caleb Ball, Daisy Bautista, Luis Becerra, Keatra Brown, Nuvia Chavez, Anthony Cortez, Baylee Craig, Dianna Daugherty, Jose Flores, Virginia Fuentes, Hannah Gage, Erika Galindo, Angely Garcia, Rustyn Goolsby, Dorali Hernandez, Kaylee Holt, Natalie Howard, Maggie Lilly, Savannah Mack, Abigail Mason, Felicity Miller, Ariel Parr, Keyla Plancarte, Jackelyn Puente, Ashley Rodriguez, Hilda Rodriguez, McKenzi Rolf, Laura Sanchez, Lizbeth Tavares, Kaleb Thompson, Jaquelyn Torres, Debora Trejo, Sophy Turner, Heriberto Vargas, Paola Ventura, Maddison Weddle, Grace Whitten, Viridiana Ysasi, and Leshly Zermeno.

The returning senior members are Blanca Antolin, Matthew Armstrong (Officer at Large), Averie Ayers (Secretary), Aner Baltazar, Irene Barboza, Aslin Barrientos (President), Adrienne Bradley, Mallory Campbell, Natalie Castillo, Makenzie Cota, Kayla Cuellar (Treasurer), Harper Davis, Jordan Dickerson, Taylor Dillard, Gustavo Galindo, Cessia Gonzalez (Vice-President), Katherine Lopez, Bryana Martinez, Linda Martinez, Ali Grace Merritt, Tyrese Milton, Maritza Quinones, Cesar Ramirez, Martina Ramirez, Erica Salazar, Alexandra Vargas, and Jaquelin Vazquez. Sponsors for the organization are MPHS teachers Donna Davis and Jackie Scoggins.