ETB Advertising Banner Header Terrie 2
Momentum Can-Am In Stock Header
Hess Lawn Mower Header
ETB Advertising Banner Header Terrie 1
Erin Conrad – Edward Jones Header
Cypress Basin Hospice 2023 Header

MPISD – News


Contact: Kelly Cowan

MPHS Electrical Technology students hold an in-house contest

The Mount Pleasant High School Electrical Technology II students recently participated in an in-house competition. Much like March Madness, the match began with a bracket of sixteen competitors and ended with the Final Four winning prizes donated by local businesses.

Instructors handed the students a technical write-up of a real-world scenario. They paired them against a classmate to use what they knew to accurately wire the electrical lab solution in a specified amount of time. The student who most accurately solved the scenario moved on in the tournament.

In the end, junior Christian Jaimes was declared Tournament Champion and earned a large prize package including a Pack Out, a hard hat, and some additional tools worth over $300. Placing second was senior Alexis Bello, with senior Javier De La Cruz Morales placing third and junior Miguel Banda coming in fourth, earning all of them tool prize packages.

Tim Davis is the director of the Mount Pleasant High School Electrical program. Jason Jetton of Elliott Electric Supply, Jason Jetton of Elliott Electric Supply, Johnny Webster of Wholesale Electric Supply, and MPHS Electrical program alumni Alan Salinas, Adrian Gomez, and Jacinto Barboza donated prizes for the tournament. The MPHS Journalism department created the bracket design.

Members of MPHS TAFE (Left to Right) TAFE Adviser Aimee Sweeden, Melisa Dominguez, Polyana Olvera, Mirka Soto, Daniela Robles, Monserrat Rivero, Sofia Palacios, and Taniah Johnson. Not pictured, Mayra Martinez and Marcela Mata.

Contact: Kelly Cowan

MPHS Future Educators advance to State competition

The Mount Pleasant High School chapter of the Texas Association of Future Educators (TAFE) attended their annual Regional competition at the MPISD Administration Building on December 3. All ten members qualified for the State competition, which will be held virtually this year, with one member qualifying in two events.

The team of Mirka Soto and Daniela Robles took first place and advanced in Children’s Literature K-3, with Robles also placing 1st and going in Lesson Plan and Delivery in Humanities. Monserrat Rivero placed first and moved to the state in Children’s Literature Pre-K. Mayra Martinez & Polyana Olvera, Ana Ramirez & Melisa Dominguez, Taniah Johnson & Sofia Palacios, and Marcela Mata all qualified with Blue Ribbons state competition in Interactive Bulletin Board. 

“These girls put a lot of effort in, and the results show it,” said MPHS Education teacher and TAFE adviser Aimee Sweeden. “They are very competitive, and although the year’s Teach Tomorrow Summit has gone virtual, they are up for any challenge. I am thrilled with this group of young competitors and their ability to represent the teaching profession with great character and integrity. MPHS TAFE is blessed with the best this year!”

 The virtual Teach for Tomorrow Summit state competition will take place March 3-6, 2021.